Today I Will Be Thankful

Is it not so easy to complain?  Why is it that complaining rolls off the tongue as if we were created to do it, but praise and thanksgiving is something that we often struggle with doing?

My prime example comes with the beginning of the new week.  Just because Monday rolls around it seems so many people mentally prepare themselves for a bad day simply because it’s “Monday” Dun-dun-duuuuuun!!”  As if Monday has ever actually done something to us!  Seriously, it is just a day!

We’ve all read those Facebook status updates….. “So Monday, we meet again.  Oh great!”, “It’s Monday? I’m going back to bed.  Wake me when it’s Friday”,  or even bright and early Monday morning we read, “Is it Friday yet?”

Why is it we find it incredibly easy to be ungrateful for the day God has made and given to us?  Another day to serve Him and love on those He has placed in our lives.  Another day to see His goodness and blessings!  Another day to simply enjoy and live!

After pondering this over, my conclusion is that complaining stems from our hearts attitude.  (Luke 6:45 “A good man out of the good treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is good; and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is evil: for of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaketh“.)  A lack of being truly thankful for all that God has done for us and given to us, that is what it stems from.  What we ponder in our hearts comes out of our mouths (or onto facebook status’) and if grumbling is really what is in the depths of our hearts, it will come out.

I have been learning to wake up thankful for all that God has blessed me with.  I have been so blessed in my life, how can I find the time (or even make the time) to complain?

A wonderful verse that challenges me to be thankful is an easy one to remember.  Psalm 118:24 “This is the day which the LORD hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.”  If we notice, this is not a question.  It is not asking or suggesting that I rejoice and be glad, no, it tells me that I will rejoice and even be glad about it!

Just in case one verse is not enough to convince us to be thankful, the Lord gives us several. How about I Thessalonians 5:18 “In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.” Though this may not be an easy task, to always give thanks in everything, it is possible to do.  How?  Well, out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks….. what am I pondering in my heart?  If I am pondering the blessings the Lord has given and am focusing on being joyful for this day and this moment, then when those not so easy times come to visit, I will already be in the habit of giving thanks.  It will already be in my heart and will still flow off my lips when the temptation to grumble is present.

Instead of grumbling about the day or about what we don’t have or complaining about whatever it is that crosses our mind, why not stop and be thankful?  Why not take some time to hide these verses away in our hearts and let our minds ponder the blessings we have been given.

As a friend of mine so wonderfully put it, the fact that it’s Monday and you have to go to work means God has given you a job to supply your needs.  Having bills come in the mail means you have clean water to drink and electricity to keep you warm/cool.

I end with a quote that has been floating around the internet and is a great reminder. “What if you woke up today with only the things you thanked God for yesterday?”  What would we be left with? We have been blessed so much!  We have been blessed too much to find the time to complain.

 

I love hearing from my readers!

