The beginning of our Happily Ever After pt. 4

We got home later that afternoon and Chad informed me that we had a special date night planned that evening.  We got all spiffied up and he picked me up and off we went.  (He was staying with some friends of ours while visiting my family over Christmas).

As we headed out I asked him if he knew where we were going.  Keeping in mind that he wasn’t from around these parts, I didn’t want him to get lost!  He told me he did and within a few minutes he pulled up in front of Outback Steakhouse.  Nice!

We enjoyed a wonderful meal, but I still noticed the reservation in him.  I couldn’t put my finger on it and throughout dinner I kept asking him if he was okay or if something was bothering him.  He assured me he was fine and we finished our dinner and got back in the car.

We pulled onto the highway and I asked, “Where are we going?”

“Let’s see where this takes us!” was his response 🙂

“Okay……” I said hesitantly.

Next thing I know we pull up to this glass bridge that was built when I was in high school.  That little stinker knew just where we were going!  It was dusk and the bridge is lit at night so you can imagine how beautiful it was!  I grew up in northern California and it is honestly just a gorgeous place to live!  While standing on the bridge you can see the river flowing below and there are mountains all around.  Oh, it’s just beautiful!

We walked across the bridge and down by the water then back up to the bridge and we stopped in the middle of it.  We were both overlooking the bridge when Chad stepped behind me, hugged me and said “Wendy, I love you so much.  I never thought I could love anyone this much and I believe with all my heart that God wants you to be my wife.”

I turned around, completely mush! I am a total sap, romance is right up my alley 🙂  He said other sweet things that for the life of me I can’t remember.  I just couldn’t believe this was happening!

He got down on one knee, pulled out a ring box, opened it up and asked, “Will you marry me?”

Oh. My. Goodness.

Is this really happening to ME?  The girl who thought marriage would never happen to her!  The girl who waited (for what seemed like forever) for just the right guy and now here he stood, right in front of me!

“Yes!”

Chad whipped that ring right out of the box and placed it on my finger.

We were ENGAGED!!  AGH!!!

It was such a wonderful and romantic evening.  I couldn’t help but stare at my ring.  ENGAGED!

We headed back to our friends home where my mom (who knew about this all along) and younger brother were waiting.  Everyone was so over joyed and now the real wedding planning could begin!  It was no wonder my man was acting so odd, he was incredibly nervous 🙂  As if I would turn him down, psh, no way!

All the while I was writing letters in that journal, writing prayers out for who I now know was THIS man.  The amazing thing is, that semester when I was so burdened to pray for my future husband, that was a semester that he was going through some really tough stuff.  It was wonderful going through my prayer journal with him and showing him that the exact dates he was struggling with God’s will for his life is the exact time I was praying so much for him.  Wow!  I LOVE hearing and seeing how God answers prayer!

We were married 6 months later and one of my wedding gifts to my husband was that journal to him I began back when I was 16.  He loved it!

Chad was DEFINITELY worth the wait.  He is everything that I ever prayed for in a husband and then some.  Some days I look at him and can’t believe he is mine!

Though our married life has not always been easy, we have seen trials come and go together, I do feel like I am living a happily ever after.  I get to wake up every day with my best friend, wonderful husband, amazing Daddy, and live life together with him!  The man God created just for me!

If you had asked me when I graduated high school where I saw myself in 10 years, I couldn’t have imagined how wonderful this life of mine would be.  I feel incredibly blessed!  Even through our trials we have seen God pull us together even closer.  Honestly, I would rather spend an evening with my husband than have a girls night out on the town.  I adore my life with Chad and my children.  When I think of my life, I can sum it up in one word: Blessed!

……And that is the beginning of our happily ever after!

(photo credits: google.com)

One thought on “The beginning of our Happily Ever After pt. 4

I love hearing from my readers!

