Food For Thought

I read an article over here today and it really made me think.

I really am not a competitive person, but I know that I often compare myself to others and oftentimes I feel like a big fat failure because of it.  As a Christian mom my goal is to raise my children up in the way they should go.  (Prov. 22:6)  Yet sometimes I know that I can get sidelined by many distractions.  The Lord knows that in my heart I yearn to raise children who will one day be adults to love the Lord with every fiber of their being, so why do I allow myself to get carried away by the other pressures life can bring?

“Are we making the right decisions?”, “Are we being to *extreme*?”, “Is home schooling going to be a detriment to our children?”, “How do we raise our children to not be rebellious as teens?”, “Are we *sheltering* to much?”, “Why does it seem like we’re the only ones who feel this way?”

On and on the questions can go round in my brain throughout the day.  I begin to compare myself to other mothers who are doing what seems a *better* job than me and seem to have it all together.  Why do I feel like I am floundering at times?  Why does it seem like my patience can be all to short and some days just forever long?  Why can’t I keep from getting frustrated and always have a sweet tone of voice when dealing with my children? Why doesn’t being like the Proverbs 31 woman come more naturally?

It would really help if when you leave the hospital with your baby that the Dr. says, “Oh, and here’s the instruction manual on how to raise a child to be a respectable, God-fearing adult”, wouldn’t it?  Well, actually, we do.  For Christians, our instruction manual is God’s Word.

Instead of comparing my life and how I raise my children to how other humans, who are just as imperfect as I am, why don’t I compare my parenting to how God explains in His Word?

When making decisions on how we will raise our children we won’t always make the right ones.  That comes with being imperfect humans.  However, if we spend more time bathing those decisions in prayer, we can make decisions with confidence knowing that God will bless. He knows our hearts, He knows we only want what is best and right for our children.  We pray that where we mess up, He will make up the difference.

There will always be others out there with opinions, thoughts, beliefs that differ from ours, but does that really matter?  In the long run, what really matters is what God thinks of our parenting.  In the long run, it matters how we live our lives in front of our children.  In the long run, it matters if our walk with the Lord is genuine, if our decisions are bathed in prayer, if our lives are following the path God wants for our family, if we are obeying God rather than following other peoples guidelines.

It brings so much relief when we are living our lives for the audience of One, God, instead of trying to run in circles and keep up with the latest parenting trends or doing what everyone else seems to be doing.

Parenting is not an easy road. It is definitely a blessing, but it takes a lot of work!  Hard work, that one day, if done the way God instructs, holds the promise that when our children “are old, he will not depart from it.”

Am I a Super Mom or am I an Abiding Mom?  My hearts prayer is that I will be an abiding Mom.

One thought on “Food For Thought

  1. This post and the article about competitive mothering you linked to have really blessed me today. Thank you!

I love hearing from my readers!

