Learning from the Word

I love it when reading the Word of God it seems to come alive.  I can picture the events taking place in my mind and I just don’t want to put my Bible down but rather finish the story!

I gave up reading “pleasure” books back when I was in college.  I didn’t have much time to read pleasure books when I was in college because of all my other reading and I simply decided that I wouldn’t pick that back up again.  I’m not a fan of romance novels or Sci-fi.  Not that there is anything wrong with all of those books, but they just aren’t for me.  Instead, I decided long ago that if I had the time to sit and read I wanted to take the time to learn how to be a better Christian/Woman/Wife/Mom.  Those kinds of books are my “pleasure” books!

Lately I have been digging into I Samuel.  The true events recorded in that book are so intriguing to me and challenge me to be a better Christian.  For example, last week I was reading in chapter 7 and verse 3 stood out to me.  It says,

“And Samuel spake unto all the house of Israel, saying, If ye do return unto the Lord with all your hearts, then put away the strange gods and Ashtaroth from among you, and prepare your hearts unto the Lord, and serve him only: and he will deliver you out of the hand of the Philistines.”

The phrases, “If ye do return unto the Lord with all your hearts…… he will deliver you out of the hand of the Philistines” really made me think.

Does God have all of my heart all of the time?  Is my whole heart in His hands?  Powerful thought and rather convicting because honestly, the answer for me would be no.  There are some days when I struggle with having daily devotions or don’t spend the day in prayer enough.  Those are the days I tend to struggle the most and find myself repenting at the end of the day asking for forgiveness, again.

The Word of God is so powerful and though it is often convicting, I am thankful that it is.   James chapter 1 talks about the Word of God as being like a mirror, it shows us what we really look like.  Now, when I get up in the morning and look in the mirror, sometimes my appearance could very likely frighten small children!  It takes work to get myself presentable and I am thankful for the mirror because just as the mirror reveals what I need to fix physically, so the Word of God reveals what I need to fix spiritually.  When I read God’s Word it is not meant for me to simply read and say, “Why yes, I do see myself as that person who needs to fix all these things” and then simply walks away doing nothing about it.  No, I need God’s Word to reveal what needs to be worked on and then ask for the Holy Spirit to help me so that I can gain victory over those trouble areas.

I am so thankful that God’s Word is LIVING!  I am so thankful that God’s Word is POWERFUL.  God is just so good to give us His Word and I know it would do me a world of good to be digging deeper into it more often then I do.  If you are looking for a great book in the Bible to read, may I recommend 1 Samuel?  It is a wonderful book filled with parenting advice, promises and blessings, and the rest, well you’ll just have to read for yourself!

Whatever it is you do decide to read, don’t forget to fit in  your daily dose of God’s Word.  It is one book you won’t regret spending time reading!

I love hearing from my readers!

