A Lesson I’m Learning

Parenting.

What a joy and yet what a job also!

I have been blessed with a child that is very strong willed and one who constantly is teaching me about my own wrong doings just by the constant bucking of his will.  I LOVE and ADORE my child, but there are times when I am ready to rip my own hair out (and maybe someone else’s hair if they get to close!) because I am frustrated!  Really frustrated!

The other day I found myself in tears completely feeling defeated as a parent and after disciplining my child yet again that day, I found myself saying out loud to God, “I CAN’T DO THIS!!!!”  That’s how frustrated I was.

It was pretty amazing because as soon as I said those words to the Lord, instantly it seemed the Holy Spirit replied back, “No, you can’t. But I can.”

2 Corinthians 12:10, “Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.”

There is absolutely no way that I can Biblically raise my children for the honor and glory of God in my own strength.  It just ain’t gonna happen!  If I parent day in and day out in my own strength, then my children will not turn out right and want to walk the straight and narrow.

So what am I going to do?

I have felt so burdened that if there is something in my own life that is feeding this strong will of my child, that is keeping his will from being submissive, then I have been pleading that the Lord would reveal what that is!  In order for me to be able to parent these children in the way they should go, there can be no room for pride on my part.  So if there is something that is not helping the situation on my end, then I want to get that right!

While praying for my children and family I felt the need to get out my Bible and begin a study on parenting.  I mean, I’ve read the Bible verses before and I’ve read helpful books, but I mean an in-depth study.  A study where I get out my Bible and a notebook and I take verse by verse about children/parenting/obedience etc.

A few verses that I read just today struck my own heart and I wanted to share them with you.

First I was reading Deuteronomy 32:20-21 which says, “And he said, I will hide my face from them, I will see what their end shall be: for they are a very froward generation, children in whom is no faith.  They have moved me to jealousy with that which is not God; they have provoked me to anger with their vanities: and I will move them to jealousy with those which are not a people; I will provoke them to anger with a foolish nation.”

I thought, what a scare thing!  To have the Lord turn His face away from His people and not only that but to have the reputation before God of having no faith!  What a horrible thing!!

These people had seen what God could do, they knew how God had provided and protected and yet they still chose too provoke our God and make Him angry.

Well, I was curious so I backed up and read some previous verses and that is when I read verse 15, “But Jeshurun waxed fat, and kicked: thou art waxen fat, thou art grown thick, thou art covered with fatness; then he forsook God which made him, and lightly esteemed the Rock of his salvation.”

Whoa, what?!  He lightly esteemed the Rock of his salvation, God Himself!

As I read that I found myself praying, “Oh God, may that never be said of me!” and yet I am sure it has by God Himself.  How many times a day do I try to do things in my own strength?  How many times a day do I try and handle situations that arise on my own?  When I choose to not include God in doing His work (raising a family) I am choosing to take light the Rock of my salvation as well.  How very humbling.

In order to be able to parent and raise my family how God would want me to, I need to take seriously how inept I am at being able to do God’s work without Him!   Before I can really parent these children how God would want me to, I need to be taking seriously the task that is before me and that means spending extra time alone with God every single day.

I pray that God would not turn His face away from me and this family!  I pray that I would not take lightly the Rock of my salvation!  I pray that no matter where I am in life that I would ALWAYS be depending on God for His provision and protection.  I have seen Him work in the past and I can trust Him to keep on working in the future!

Parenting is a tough job but it can also be the most rewarding gift!  How blessed we are to be given children to raise for the honor and glory of Christ!  May we always strive to parent through His strength instead of our own.

It doesn’t seem that this strong will of my child is going away anytime soon, and it isn’t that I want it gone.  Rather, I would like it to be bent in the direction of submission and obedience.  I find myself praying that God would use this strong will for His glory one day but before that can happen, it needs to be on the right track!  Knowing that this strong will isn’t going away may seem daunting at times, but knowing that the LORD is the one that will do the bending of my child’s will seems to make it more easy to handle.  I am instructed to raise him Biblically and ultimately the Lord is the One who will change his heart.

Consistency consistency consistency….. it takes a lot of work!  Whoever said that stay at home moms eat bon bons and watch soaps all day obviously was never a stay at home mom 🙂

I love hearing from my readers!

