Have Faith

faithDuring family devotions tonight my husband shared part of the story of Abraham from the Old Testament.  He shared about when God asked Abraham to pack up his family and move.  Okay, no problem!  Where are we going, Lord?  Abraham was not met with an answer, instead he was met with “Trust me.  I’ll let you know when you need to know.”  Wait, what?  Who does that?!  Who packs up their family without knowing what direction they are headed?  Abraham, a man of faith.

Hebrews 11:8-10,  By faith Abraham obeyed when he was called to go out to the place which he would receive as an inheritance. And he went out, not knowing where he was going. By faith he dwelt in the land of promise as in a foreign country, dwelling in tents with Isaac and Jacob, the heirs with him of the same promise; 10 for he waited for the city which has foundations, whose builder and maker is God.

It was a long day today.  We are getting ready to put our home on the market, packing up the place we have loved and called home the past 3 years.  We are doing what we need to so that when God decides to let us know where He wants us we are ready to go!   I have often found myself asking, “Okay, I’ll pack my home and family up, but where are we going, Lord?”  The Lord has chosen to answer us in a similar way as He did with Abraham.  “Trust me, I’ll let you know when you need to know.”   lightWait what?

This can be kind of scary if you ask me!  I am the kind of person that likes to know well in advance what the “plans are”.  I enjoy knowing when, where, how, and a lot of times why!  I take pleasure in planning and organizing.  Color coordinating plastic tubs so I know what rooms they will eventually go in is my forte so this whole “trust me, I’ll let you know in time” is throwing me completely out of my comfort zone.

Putting faith in action.  How much do I really trust God?  How much do I depend on Him?  If I have no problem trusting Him with my eternity, why do I tend to struggle with trusting Him in the here and now?

My husband is reading a book by Paul Chappell right now entitled “In Desert Places” and last night he read two sentences to me.

“When God wants to perform a miracle, He always begins with a problem.  The bigger the problem, the greater the miracle.” 

We are waiting for that miracle.

trustWhile we wait I will continue to allow the Lord to grow my faith.  While we wait we will seek His face just as we have been doing.  While we wait we will trust, and when our humanness begins to take over and cause doubt, we will pray and ask the Lord for the faith needed to keep trusting Him.  While we wait I am sure there will be tears shed as Christ keeps on pruning our lives to reflect more of Himself through us.

I leave you with a quote I read from Streams in the Desert this morning.  Man, I am finding these devotional thoughts to be SO applicable to my life right now!

“Difficulty is sent to reveal to us what God can do in answer to the faith that prays and works.” ~ Cowman

One thought on “Have Faith

  1. I can so understand exactly how you are feeling. It is so hard to just wait on God to show you your next step. But God has promised us He will always show us that step – only in His PERFECT timing. Praying for you all.

I love hearing from my readers!

