Peace In the Midst

Have you ever been in a hurricane before or better yet, a tornado?  My husband and I were in a hurricane back in 2004 while down at college.  Whoa, talk about scary!

Our college had buildings that were made to withstand hurricane force winds and while my husband stayed in his dorm room I stayed in another building there on campus.  There was an eerie calm, a quietness before the storm came.  No wind, no rain, just an overcast sky was the sign that a storm was brewing.

Sometime in the wee morning hours the hurricane came full force.  I mean this storm was angry!  I could hear the wind howling, tree branches flying, glass breaking outside, it was crazy!  Yet, in the midst of it all there I was in this building, completely safe from it all.  That hurricane was recorded as a 4 or 5, which is pretty bad!  When we were able to leave the building later the next day the damage was so intense!  Trees were fallen, homes were ripped apart, trees were in the middle of homes!  Cars had broken glass or were smashed due to flying object crashing into them at full force, power lines were down, you couldn’t drink the water, most of the time no water would even come out of the tap!  It was a bad bad storm that left much damage in it’s wake.

Through this growing time in the life of my husband and I it seems kind of like a hurricane is going full force!  Everything is blowing all around at a quick pace and our life story is not being written how we thought it would be.  However, my heart is at complete peace.  You would think this would not make sense at all, and realistically, without the Lord, it wouldn’t make any sense!  My husband is without a job, we are selling our home, a move is in our near future, I mean the winds are really blowing!  Yet, here I sit in complete peace.

My lifes verse is Psalm 27:4, “One thing have I desired of the Lord, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the Lord, and to enquire in his temple.”  I truly desire to seek after the Lord, no matter what the situations are around me.

In my devotions I was reading a story about a woman who was lamenting over the numerous trials going on in her life.  Wondering why so many?  The Lord brought her to a vineyard that was overgrown and producing minimal fruit.  He explained that when a farmer is done with a vineyard he no longer prunes, trims, cares if there are weeds, he no longer waters and looks after the vineyard because he is done with it.  He expects no more fruit and no longer needs it.  The Lord looked at the woman and asked, “Is this what you want?  Do you want me to leave you alone?”  Wow!  How many times have I been that woman?  How many times have I cried out, “Lord, I just want a break from all of this!!”  Yet, the Lord is not done using me.  In order to use me better for His glory, in order to produce more fruit, He must constantly be pruning, cutting off things in my life that He sees are not helping me live for Him.  Cutting off more of myself so that more of HIM can be clearly seen. So that more of the beauty of Him will be seen through me to others.

I have no doubt that this trial we are in the midst of is involving more pruning.  Pulling away what isn’t needed in our lives, testing our faith, stretching our trust in God.  When a steady paycheck is coming in it is easier not to depend on God to provide it.  Yet when that paycheck stops coming we are again forced to realize that it really is GOD who provides!

It is odd to me that I am not worrying about anything right now.  I mean, I can be a GREAT worrier!  Yet, Isaiah 26:3 is so true, “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee.

The peace of God will pass all understanding if we allow it too.  If we keep our minds stayed on Him, even through the hurricanes life may bring our way, His peace will surround us and surpass our understanding.  What a great God we have!

I love hearing from my readers!

