Writing my story

Sometimes the Lord asks us to go through difficult times doesn’t He?  Most often He doesn’t ask us, we simply find ourselves thrust in the midst of a trial and we have to come to a place where we are willing to go through it and still remain faithful to God.

The Lord has taken my husband and I through some difficult trials in our life together and  He has given me such a burden to share with others some of the lessons He has taught me.  About four years ago the Lord impressed on my heart to write a book.

A book?  Me?  The one who misspells words and commits grammatical murder because my fingers are trying to keep up with my brain but are unable to?  If you’ve read this blog for any length of time, you know I am not an English teacher by any means 🙂

However, write is what I felt the Lord impressing on my heart.  So at that time I began to write about what was going on in our life right then.  A trial that I never thought I would have in the story of my life.  An event that changed my life forever.  It was a story to write that would be raw, and real.  It would share my struggles and victories through that trial and my constant need for God to carry me through that time.  A time when I knew no words to pray but God heard my heart.  Have you been there?

So write I did.  I have a book about 90% done but as I wrote I found the weight of my story becoming to heavy to keep writing.  I shared with the Lord I needed some more time before I finished it and He gave a peace to put down my writers pen for the time being.   I needed time for more healing, but all of the raw emotions were recorded and they would be waiting for me when I was ready once again.

Recently I felt the Lord urging me to finish this book.  So I have picked up my pen so to speak because really it is a computer keyboard….. but you get the idea.  I have been working on edits throughout my days and Lord willing it will be finished soon.

That is scary.

Am I ready for something so real, so raw, so honest about myself to be put out there for others to read?  Why would I do this to myself?  Why be so vulnerable?

I only have one answer.  God.

When He calls we simply obey.

Will this book be a #1 best seller?  Probably not.

Will this book make it into the hands of millions of readers?  Probably not, but that would be amazing!

Will this book make it into the hands of a hurting soul who needs to hear my story, the story that God has chosen to write for my life, because it will be just the encouragement they need to keep trusting the One who is writing their story?  I pray so!!

My goal for writing this blog and this book is simple really.  God has placed a desire in my heart to encourage!!  I long to encourage women to love the Lord more today than they did yesterday!  I long to encourage women to draw closer to Him, to lean heavily on Him, to glorify Him, to be more like Christ because that is what this life is all about!

I will never be able to travel to all of the places this blog can.  I will never be able to have a cup of hot cocoa with the many hurting women I long to help.  Yet, the Lord can use this blog and hopefully this upcoming book to do just that.

So pray with me will you?  I have never written a book before or tried to find a publisher or any of all the things that will need to get done.  I do know that the Lord wanted me to write this story though and He will take care of the details and continue to lead in the way He wants me to go.  Pray that this book will reflect only what Christ wants to be said and that He will be glorified through it all!  Pray that this book will find it’s way into just the hands that need it and that it will point the readers back to the Lord and encourage them to remain faithful to the One writing their story.

God is good all of the time and all of the time God is so good!

I love hearing from my readers!

