The Potter’s Hands

I remember one day in college, many moons ago, arriving to chapel and curious about what was on the stage.  It was something I had never seen in person before, but something I had seen in pictures.

A potter’s wpotterswheelheel.

As chapel began our speaker took his seat at his potter’s wheel and began making it move.  As he took a piece of clay and put it on the wheel, he with ever gentle, careful hands began to mold the clay.  He was never harsh with the clay, he knew it was to fragile for that.  He could ruin it for sure!  Oh no, he was gentle, taking great effort to lightly but firmly mold his clay.

You know, in the book of Jeremiah God speaks about a potter and his clay.

Jeremiah 18:1-6 ” The word which came to Jeremiah from the Lord, saying, 2 Arise, and go down to the potter’s house, and there I will cause thee to hear my words. 3 Then I went down to the potter’s house, and, behold, he wrought a work on the wheels. 4 And the vessel that he made of clay was marred in the hand of the potter: so he made it again another vessel, as seemed good to the potter to make it. 5 Then the word of the Lord came to me, saying, 6 O house of Israel, cannot I do with you as this potter? saith the Lord. Behold, as the clay is in the potter’s hand, so are ye in mine hand, O house of Israel.”

Lately God has been pointing out some areas in my life that need molding.  Just as a potter will work and work his clay to get out the impurities and make his vessel just right, that is how God has been working on me.  He has been revealing some things in my life that are just plain ugly.  It hurts to have sin pointed out, doesn’t it?  We don’t like to have God, or anyone else for that matter reveal the sin in our hearts because it is ugly to look at.  In a world where flawless beauty is the standard, looking at our sin reveals the truth we try to hide.  Jeremiah 17:9, “The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it?
So when God begins to pull back the facade that we can so easily put up, it hurts.  Oh, but if we could only realize His intent is not to hurt us, but rather to draw us ever closer to His side!

The Potter’s Hands are gentle.  As we gaze at His strong, powerful hands we can see the scars that remind us just what He was willing to go through because of His deep love for us.  A love we can barely comprehend.

With love and gentleness God has been working on those rough spots I have.  Areas where I have dethroned Him, areas where I have let selfishness creep in and take a foothold.  It’s been tough to look my sin right in the face and admit that what He has revealed definitely needs to be worked on.  I feel ashamed and broken over it.  Then I look up.

All I see is His love.  Forgiveness has been granted, encouragement to take steps towards victory is lavished, grace and mercy are abounding!  He isn’t trying to hurt me, oh no, far from it!  Instead He is continually molding me into the woman that He wants me to be.  He is working out the impurities I have allowed in.  He is teaching me ever more about His grace and how much I need to depend upon it.

We have such a good God.  How grateful I am to be His.

Photo courtesy of http://www.bing.com/images

I love hearing from my readers!

