No Room For Fear

Last night we had some pretty hefty thunderstorms!

Our children had been lightning_stormin bed for about two hours when my husband and I were startled!  Thunder had recently rattled in the sky and our home and woke up our littlest.  The fear in her cry gripped my heart and I ran back to her room to scoop her up.

When she saw me come through the door she instantly said, “Rock!  Rock!”  Yes, I am blessed with a little one who still adores being rocked in the rocking chair safe and secure in Mommy’s arms.

We sat down in the rocker and I whispered calming words to her little ears as she began to calm down.  “It’s okay baby, Mama’s here.  You’re okay.” As we rocked she began to close her eyes and she caught her breath once again.  She snuggled closely and began to drift back to sleep.  She knew she was safe, she was in Mommy’s arms.  The thunder no longer scared her because she was in her safe place, she knew Mommy would not let anything happen to her.

As I rocked my sweet baby I thought about how this, this is exactly how God wants uAs to be with Him.  He wants us to rest in His loving and ever capable arms.

There are a lot of scary things going on in the world.   I can’t even turn on the national news lately, my heart becomes overwhelmed seeing all the wickedness that is plastered across the screen.  I could easily become fearful.  I don’t have to turn on the news though to have fear creep in my heart.  Oh no, fearful events can be all around us!  Yet, Christ often beckons, “Fear not, for I am with you!”  {See Is. 41:10, “Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.“)

He assures us in Psalm 4:8, “I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, LORD, only makest me dwell in safety.

Just as my daughter rests so easily in my arms, God wants His children to rest easily in His.  HE is our place of refuge {Ps. 59:16a, “for thou hast been my defence and refuge in the day of my trouble.“}.  When fear threatens to swarm in and overwhelm you, speak to your soul!  Remind your heart and your soul, “Hey, God’s got this!”

Rest in Him, listen to His calming words, and trust Him that He will never leave or forsake you.  Only in Him will we find true rest.

Lightning photo courtesy of bing.com

I love hearing from my readers!

