If I Were to Write the Story

As I read the words sprawled across each page of the book in front of me emotion, deep emotion grips my inner being.  Right to the core.  The sentence, “Just maybe….maybe you don’t want to change the story, because you don’t know what a different ending holds” {Found in the book 1000 Gifts} cuts deep into my soul.

A sentence so short, but one full to the brim of truth.

How many of us would love to re-write part of our story?  The story that God knew was going to take place long before we breathed our first breath?  Erasing pain, memories, regrets that have held us captive, hurt, enslaved.  Re-writing our story to look more like a fairy tale is how we think it should go.  Is it not?

Yet, the ending of that sentence above….. if we were to re-write what has already been, what ending would there be?

When my husband and I said our “I do’s” nearly 10 years ago I never ever imagined some of the trials that we would go through.  So many pregnancy losses.  I never imagined that I would be that mother who had to bury her baby boy.  No, when I dreamed of my happily ever after that was never part of my dream.

There were so many days when I have struggled with the story God has been penning for my life.  When I have not believed His words of truth, “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.” (Jeremiah 29:11)  Instead I doubted His goodness, I rejected His daily grace as I struggled through the valley He wrote specifically for my life.

If I were to write my story it would hold fewer tears and much more joy, but that is because in my humanness I fail to remember that there can be joy in the midst of the tears.  Joy, not because of my current circumstance but rather because of the grace He freely lavishes on His own.  Joy because during the tears I am never forsaken.  Joy because He holds His children in the palm of His hand.

If I were to re-write my story I would not know about the things I have learned about God through those tears.  It is through the valleys He has taught me much more about Himself.

So instead of choosing to re-write my story, I can choose to accept the story He has perfected for my life.  A story that will include mountains and valleys, grief and joy, failures and victories, losses and gains.  Because all of the intricate details He is writing about my life, He is using them to draw me ever closer to Him.  So that when others look at me, they only see a reflection of Who is living in me.  So that He can be glorified.

Where do you find yourself in the story God has written?  Whether you find yourself on a mountain top or in the depths of a valley, keep trusting!  Keep pursuing!  Keep following after Him!  Psalm 105:4, “Seek the Lord, and his strength: seek his face evermore.”  Don’t run from or resent the story He is writing for you, embrace it!  He is good, and all that He does is good and for our good!  Cling to His promises and let the Author take control of the pen.

One thought on “If I Were to Write the Story

  1. So well written. I have watched your beautiful life with its joys and heartaches and I thank God for you. You show God’s grace through all of your circumstances. Thank you for such an example of a gracious and godly woman.

I love hearing from my readers!

