Jumping in with both feet

I’ve been reading a book, a book that has been changing my heart.  A book that has brought to light something I need to learn!  God’s Word is definitely a book that does this daily in my life, but God has been using another book as well.  A book about finding thanksgiving and joy in every day life!

About a month and a half ago I began praying that God would help me to have a truly joyful spirit, every day.  Every. Single. Day. The Lord had brought this book to mind to read and I’m enjoying it immensely!   I admit, it has not been easy to be joyful always and in all things….. sometimes we learn best though through tough days!  It’s easy to be joyful when life is superb, it is not so easy when the kids {and me} are cranky from lack of sleep, when little ones are not motivated to complete their schooling for the day, when the washer overflows, you take the car in for two new tires because that is in the budget and you discover you have to actually get 4 new ones, and the baby has a diaper explosion {which rarely happens anymore but of course has to happen when you are out} and you are unprepared! !  Know what I mean?

So, I’m taking steps.  Little steps.  Steps that will eventually, Lord willing, lead to a joy-filled life!  It’s beginning with a lot of praying and a list and I’ve jumped in with both feet!  giftsA list that will be scribbled on each and every day as I learn to give thanks in all things.  A list that will contain 1000 Gifts that God gives.  Things like, “quick hugs and kisses just because”, “A warm fire to sit by”, “God’s provision for those two extra tires”, “The way my 5 year old kisses my cheek each night”, “lovely scented candles that make our home feel cozy”, all of them make the list!

As the author of this book points out, being grateful, joyful, it has to be learned and to learn it takes practice.  So I will practice and practice until it becomes my first nature to give thanks in all things!  Turning my heart that can so easily be full of ingratitude into a heart of pure thanksgiving, daily, no matter what swirls around throughout that day.  This is God’s perfect will for my life, He tells me so in I Thessalonians 5:18, “In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.”

Will you join me?  Wake up fresh each morning searching for those every day, easily and often overlooked gifts, that He daily loads us with!  {Psalm 68:19, “Blessed be the Lord, who daily loadeth us with benefits, even the God of our salvation. Selah.“}  I’m excited to see how God transforms my heart, one moment of every day at a time.  With each new addition to my thanksgiving list, my prayer is that I will become closer to Him, the One Who gives me reason to be full and overflowing with JOY!

2 thoughts on “Jumping in with both feet

  1. This is something that I too have been working on. In fact, I have downloaded the Kindle version of this book so that I can start reading it. There is so much that I need to work on in my life and it is never to early to start. Love you. Keep on writing.

I love hearing from my readers!

