Mama, Tell Me A Story!

“Mom, can you help me find the book of Job?  I want to start reading it.” Asks my 7 year old.  “Later honey, we are in church and you need to listen to the message God has for us” was my reply, but I squeezed her tightly as my heart beamed with praise to God for her tender heart!  Her Sunday school class has begun to learn about Job and she was intrigued!

As I puttered around the kitchen fixing their lunch later that afternoon I asked my sweet girl about why she wanted to read about Job right then.  “I just want to know what happens!” she proclaimed!

“The story of Job is an amazingly wonderful story, a true story about how important it is to stay faithful to God even when we are going through something hard.”  I spread the honey across the bread, “You know, when we decide to follow Jesus, Satan does not like that.  Everything God loves Satan hates.  But it is always, always right to stay close to God.” I whispered to them, their ears hanging on to each word I said.  My heart praying they would take these truths and tuck them deep into their hearts.

“Mama, tell me all about Job!” requested our 5 year old inquisitively.  So as I poured some applesauce and dipped their spoons in it the story began.  A story that is full of so much of God’s grace and the challenge to stay close to God and keep trusting Him, even though the trials may rage.  I shared about how Satan was just so sure that Job would turn if God would remove His hand of blessing and how God gave permission to Satan to take Job’s children and wealth and eventually his health.  The story unraveled and their eyes were wide.  A story they have heard before, but one that captivated their heart once again.

As they took bites of their sandwiches and slurped down their applesauce I prayed as I spoke that God would use this story to touch their very souls!  You see, each morning when I get up I pour my coffee and cozy up on our couch.  The fire is on and I dig into God’s Word and then I pray and pour my heart out to God for my children.  I plead with Him to save their souls at a young age and for them to never ever ever rebel and turn from Him.  I ask of Him to protect them from the world, it is sly and can creep in so easily and trick all of us into thinking that what it has to offer is more grand than what God gives freely.  What Christ gives comes with no guilt or shame, no regrets. “Please God, keep them close to your side!”

As I pray I plead with Him that He would help me to find ways to bring the Gospel into our every day life, as I fix lunches, referee squabbles, bandage owies and pour baths.  I yearn for Christ to be so integrated in our home and family that we all are more aware of His ever constant presence and that it will deepen our desire to live for Him more.

I don’t always take the opportunities given, but I want to do better! The spirit is willing but the flesh can be so weak!  {Matthew 26:4, “Watch and pray, that ye enter not into temptation: the spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.”}

God is gracious though and as I pour my heart out to God I also ask Him to make up the difference where I seriously lack.  It is God alone who can save them but it is my job as their Mama to point them back to Him every chance I get.

Deuteronomy 6:5-8, “And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thine heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy might.  And these words, which I command thee this day, shall be in thine heart:   And thou shalt teach them diligently unto thy children, and shalt talk of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, and when thou liest down, and when thou risest up.  And thou shalt bind them for a sign upon thine hand, and they shall be as frontlets between thine eyes.”

I’m learning as a Mom, I have much to learn as a Mom.  I will never be the perfect Mama that I want to be, but God didn’t call me to be a perfect Mom….. No, He called me to be a Mama who relys fully on His grace and trust that His Spirit is stirring the very souls of my little ones.  The little ones that are really His on loan to me and He longs for all of them to come to Him more than I do.  So I’ll keep sharing truths from God’s Word, I’ll keep pointing them to the One Who loves them more than life itself and trust their souls to His safe keeping.

I love hearing from my readers!

