Come Unto Me!

She entered the room, it was obvious her cigarette had just been put out before she walked in the door and she took a seat.  Quietly she listened as our devotional ended and prayer requests were shared. It was just a few of us ladies gathered together, “Does anyone have any more prayer requests?”

Without hesitation, “I do” she whispered, as she tucked her hair behind her ear.

The young woman that none of us knew, felt comfortable enough or maybe it was that she felt so desperate to ask for prayer.  Whatever the reason, her story began to spill forth.  Those of us in the room fell silent and in complete shock.  Each of us, our hearts breaking for this woman, sharing her request and the emotion of her heart spilling forth down her cheeks as she dabbed her eyes with a tissue.  The tears just wouldn’t stop.  All of us putting ourselves in her shoes and not knowing what we would have done or how we would have handled ourselves.

When she was done sharing, it was obvious the heart of this mother was aching, hurting, yearning for healing.  “Wendy, why don’t you pray?” was the request.  With a lump lodged generously in my throat I took this request to the only place I know to take it, to the One Who can bring the healing.  The Great Physician.  Laying these requests at His feet was quite honestly an honor, and I yearned to see a miracle performed!

I didn’t know this woman before, but my heart was drawn to her and I longed to see her come to Christ.  The ache was so real, so heavy.  I wanted to tell her, “Please, let me lead you to the One I know who can begin to help heal this deep wound of your heart!”  The desire to see her seek Christ hung heavy in the air and the Lord did open that opportunity for me to point her to Him when our time in prayer was done.

A few days have passed since this encounter with this woman and I have often wondered if that ache I had is similar, even just by a smidgen to the yearning Christ has for the lost to come to Him.  For the world to seek salvation and refuge in Him.  To stop carrying the hurts that cut them so deep and see true healing.

John 11:25-26 states, “Jesus said unto her, I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live: And whosoever liveth and believeth in me shall never die. Believest thou this?”

Do we really believe?  Do we see our salvation as something we just keep to ourselves?  It’s good enough for us, but not good enough to share?

If we were to find the cure fore cancer we would be sharing this good news with our family, friends, and strangers because we knew it would save their lives, here on earth!  It would spare many broken hearts, it would conquer the sting of fear that cancer carries with it.

My dear readers, fellow sisters, if we have claimed the name of Christ, if we have received the GOOD NEWS of the cross, then we HAVE the GOOD NEWS!  We have the CURE the world is seeking after!  Yet, far to often, we don’t see our salvation as good enough for all.  Oh, we may not say those words, it would be very “Un-Christian” for us to admit that vocally, but our actions {or really lack there of} speaks loud and clear.

I heard a song the other day that said, “Jesus paid much to high a price for us to pick and choose who should be saved.”  Do we do that?  Do we pick and choose whom we think deserves to hear the GOOD NEWS of the Gospel?  What if the person God brought into our lives to lead us to Him had done that with us?  How vastly different our lives would be.  I could very well have been that precious woman seeking help and healing.  Would someone else have seen passed my heavy cigarette smell and appearance to share the Gospel with me?  good-news1I don’t always take the opportunities when God gives them, and that is something God has challenged me to work on.

If we truly believe HE is the answer, then we need to be sharing His GOOD NEWS with the people He allows to cross our paths.  Christ frequently says, “Come unto ME!”  Let’s make more of an effort to purposefully do just that!  Point them to the One who can ultimately save their souls!

Images courtesy of Google images

I love hearing from my readers!

