I Love My Church Family!

I absolutely LOVE our church family!  I can honestly say I have never been a part of a church that has been quite like this one.  A church body that truly exudes the love of Christ!

When we first moved to the south I felt uncertain and probably a bit insecure!  This Cali girl had never lived in the south before, nor had I lived in the country!  Now, let me explain because I know some people probably wouldn’t even see where I am as living in the country, but folks, seriously.  When cows can look at you through your dining window and do so each evening as you sit down for dinner (probably wondering if you are eating their long lost relative…..) you know you live in the country!  Can I get a witness?!  Town is about 15 minutes away though and for that I am so thankful!  It isn’t terribly far away 🙂

As we settled into our home and began to fellowship with our church family, the Lord began to knit a deep bond with our church families.  My family and I absolutely love going to church and meeting with God’s people in His house to both worship Christ and to fellowship with our church family.

We are a small country church that God is doing big things in!

One major observation I noticed quickly is how important family relationships are tchurcho the people down here.  This was new to me!  I grew up without really knowing my cousins or Aunts and Uncles.  When you grow up that way you kind of think that’s how everyone else grew up, right?  My husband grew up with all of his family close by and some of his cousins were his best friends.  Through him, I have developed a desire to see our children really know their extended family and the godly heritage they come from.  My husband’s grandparents, wow, I cannot even explain to you the impact they have had in my life in the 11 years I have known them, but I want to be just like them!  You know the verse I Corinthians 11:1 that says, “Be ye followers of me, even as I also am of Christ.”  Yes, that is them!  God has blessed our family with an amazing heritage and I deeply desire our children to know about it!

Then the Lord moved us down south and wow, the family relationships are so closely knit!  I love it!  I love seeing how much adult children love their parents and grandparents and other extended family!  Family is such a tremendous gift that can oh so easily be overlooked or taken for granted.

Something else that has been a blessing to me is how our church family acts like a family!  They care for one another, encourage one another, serve one another!  It is an incredible gift when the body of Christ acts like the body of Christ is supposed to act!  I tell you what, God blessed us when He brought each one of these people into our lives!  To get to know the Lord better together, to get to serve together, to get to go through the trenches together.  What a blessing to serve here!

What I am really thrilled about is that soon my mom will get to be a part of it as well!  She gets to join this body of Christ when she moves in just a few weeks!  I can’t wait for her to experience a church family like she has never known before!  I have no doubts she will be greeted with open and loving arms.

This is a first for me, to be serving in a smaller local church body, (the churches I grew up in were 500 +) but man alive, never judge a book by it’s cover, if you know what I mean!  A close knit body of believers and growing both spiritually and numerically!  I can’t wait to see what God is going to do in the coming weeks and months ahead!  He has a LOT in store for this sweet body of His who simply want to know Him better and point others to Him!

What a privilege to be married to the Pastor, the one who said, “Lord, wherever You lead we will follow.”  The Pastor who was willing to move to the country straight from city life, to lead and serve this body of believers.   How sweetly blessed I am!  Thank you, Lord!

I love hearing from my readers!

