What Is True Love?

Typically I am not one to weigh in on the latest trends or fads, upcoming movies or the top 10 music groups.  I have my opinions about all of those topics, just like the next person, but I usually keep my thoughts to myself on the matters.

Last week I was involved in a ministry outside of my home and the topic of a movie was brought up.  I listened as the ladies around me began to share about a few of the details of the movie and their thoughts on it.  I was incredibly thankful to hear that they were horrified at the story line and yet burdened at the same time.  Since hearing of this upcoming movie that has since been released, my heart was breaking.  A movie that has nothing to do with true love yet has masked itself with and deceived others into believing it is.  This, this is the very reason the armor of God is so important.

Satan is sneaky.  He comes at us not with a pitch fork, but rather as all of our wildest dreams come trueLion-Backgrounds!  Though he is not all knowing, he knows what is important to us.  All he has to do is observe us for awhile and it will be evident to him what our highest aspirations and dreams are.  He then disguises himself as such and waits for those unsuspecting victims to fall into his trap.  Remember 1 Peter 5:8 warns us as Satan is truthfully described, “Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour:”  The prey of a lion typically doesn’t see him coming….. he is quiet, cunning, sneaky and patient.  He will wait for just that right moment and then he will pounce and devour his prey.

All of us were created with a desire to be loved.  Loved with unconditional love.  Look at our society, the evidence of this is overwhelming.  The world is seeking to be loved and more often then not search in all of the wrong places and end up hurting, wounded, and feeling abandoned.

Hollywood is no fool in this matter, the producers, film makers, directors, they all are well aware that we are that way.  They know we crave true love and they have monopolized on that and have fed us lie after lie after lie about what love truly is.  Hollywood has fed us that true love is romance and sex and how lovemany have eaten those lies, swallowed them up whole and ended up confused and wounded when true love was not the outcome?  True love has nothing to do with outward physical beauty, it is not found in a one night stand, it is not found in extra-marital affairs, nor in movies Hollywood produces.  When has Hollywood ever truly benefited our lives?

True love is not about seeking my best interest and fulfilling my desires.  Yet, if we do not spend time daily putting on God’s full amor, we will be deceived by the ultimate deceiver. We will believe the lies spoken to us.  We have been given the warning about Satan and what he really is, but we have also been given a solution, Ephesians 6:11, “Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.” 

When I think of true love my mind cannot help but be turned to the cross.  When I let my mind dwell on the kind of love Christ showed to me there, it will cause me to weep.  The beating He endured because He loved me, willing to have His Father turn His back on Him in order that I may have forgiveness, knowing the sins that would so easily beset me (Hebrews 12:1) He came anyway, bore my sin and offered me only love and desire to have a relationship with me.  That my friend, oh this is true love!

As I allow Christ to work in my heart He miraculously allows me to be able to love those around me.  Seeking to serve them, seeking their best interest, forgiving when I have been wounded, continually reaching out no matter the rejection.  True love isn’t found in bed, though it is an expression of the true love a husband and wife share, it is far different than the example Hollywood thrusts our way.

True love does not bring bondage, true love does not bring confusion {1 Corinthians 14:33, For God is not the author of confusion, but of peace…..”}, true love does not crossatduskdemand, is not self-seeking.  God gives us His description of true love in 1 Corinthians 13,

Charity suffereth long, and is kind; charity envieth not; charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up, Doth not behave itself unseemly, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil; Rejoiceth not in iniquity, but rejoiceth in the truth;  Beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things.  Charity never faileth:” 

This is not what has been portrayed in the movie recently released by Hollywood.  Don’t be fooled!  Put on the full armor of God to be able to resist the temptations Satan will hurl your way!  If the full armor of God is not on that means we have left a hole to allow Satan to come in through.  The only things Satan will bring you are regret, shame, hurt, confusion, lies…..  Christ offers freedom!

When seeking an example of what true love is don’t seek for the definition in a Hollywood movie.  “Turn your eyes upon Jesus, look full in His Wonderful face and the things of earth will grow strangely dim in the light of His glory and grace!”

All images are courtesy of bing images

I love hearing from my readers!

