Counting My Blessings Has Changed My Heart!

I’ve been on this journey of purposeful thanksgiving for nearly 3 months now.  I have since finished up the book 1000 Gifts.  Wow.  Amazing.

Have you ever stopped and just sought for blessings?  Have you ever asked God to peel the scales away from your eyes so that you could see Him at work?

When I began my journey I was excited but I wondered if I could really keep it up.  Skeptical of me for sure, but I know how I am!  Sometimes things (like working out!) sound exciting and fun and NEW, but then life settles in and sometimes those new things become not so enjoyable!  After working out your muscles are sore and sometimes you can barely move!  So this journey God sent me on has been indeed life changing.

I’m looking at my list of growing gifts and am overwhelmed with thankfulness.  Thankful in the midst of chaos.  Seeing God answer prayers and to revel in the fact that He is indeed answering prayers!   When I see my attitude beginning to go south the Holy Spirit prompts me to seek for the gift in the moment.

I love the quote on page 176 of One Thousand Gifts that says, “While I may not always feel joy, God asks me to give thanks in all things, because He knows that the feeling of joy begins in the action of thanksgiving….. joy doesn’t negate all other emotions—- joy transcends all other emotions.”

When I choose to not be thankful and rejoice in all things I am choosing to reject what God is giving in that moment.

Wow. Powerful right?

On page 177 Ann Voskamp states, “Pride slays thanksgiving… A proud man is seldom a grateful man, for he never thinks he gets as much ad he deserves”  I can turn to Scripture and what does Christ say about pride? James 4:6 “But he giveth more grace. Wherefore he saith, God resisteth the proud, but giveth grace unto the humble.”

The Lord resists pride.

Could it be in part because we become unthankful and begin to complain and wag our fingers in the face of our Creator demanding things we believe we deserve?

Oh help us Lord!

Pride is the easy road because it comes naturally through our flesh.  Joy takes work!  Joy takes humility, thanksgiving requires humility.  A sacrificing of our flesh, which can often be a painful process.  Yet, it is a path worth taking!

Seeing the Lord transform my heart has been incredible.  I wish that I had learned to be more thankful long long ago, but no use looking back.  The past is done and all I can do it reach forward to what is ahead!  Each day I look forward to adding more and more blessings to my list of gifts and as I scan through them I can’t help but think, “Lord, you really do daily load us up with blessings!”

Now I pass the challenge over to you!!  Get some paper and a pen and begin to list your blessings!  Name them one by one and you will begin to see what the Lord has done!

