To Whom Much Is Given

The headlines in America, and really the world, frighten me at times.  I used to be able to watch the news, Fox and Friends was one of my favorites, however, I can’t handle watching it anymore.  I get overwhelmed when I think about everything going on in the world.

Just the other day my husband was telling me about the children that were being stolen away from their families by ISIS and were being sold as sex slaves.  Ripped my heart right out of my chest.  I wanted to weep and demand those children be returned!  I was angered and thought, “Who do they think they are?!  What gives them the understanding that they have the right to steal children and sell them in such gross ways?!”  I wanted to weep for the children, the scared, stolen, and now scarred children.  Oh my heart, it can’t handle it.  I prayed as we drove down the road.  I watched the tree line and pleaded with God to protect children all over this world.  I pleaded that ISIS would be destroyed.  The depth of the evil is truly unfathomable.  It is incredible to think that Christ loves this group of people and longs for them to come to Him as their Savior.

As I live my day to day life I can easily forget about the troubles of the world.  I can make my own troubles seem like mountains when in comparison to the rest of the world it is all rubbish really.  Then when I hear shocking headlines it grounds me once again.  I begin to think about how blessed I really am and begin to wonder why….. I mean I had nothing to do with the family I would be born into, the faith I was brought up in, the country I was born a citizen of.  No, I had nothing to do with that but God had everything to do with it.  When I wonder “why have you chosen this wonderful life for me when so many people are living a life of poverty, pain, they are denied the very essence of Christianity?” one verse comes to mind each and every time.  Right in the middle of Luke 12:48 this is written, “For unto whomsoever much is given, of him shall be much required:”

I have been given much, therefore much is required.  When I was born a citizen of America I was instantly given freedoms.  When my mother cradled me in her arms, I was the newest recipient of all that America’s freedoms offer.  As I grew I could freely worship Christ without fear of prison or torture.  I could freely speak of Christ.  I could live my life the way God intended me to live it.  To whom much is given, much is required.

What am I doing with what I have been given?  Am I wasting what I have been gifted with?  Am I becoming a glutton with all of God’s blessings instead of sharing what I have been blessed with? We have been blessed to be a blessing!  If all I was ever given was Christ, I could honestly say I have been given much, yet God has blessed me with Himself and so much more.

He has gifted each of us with time, how are we spending that time?  God has gifted me with a husband, how am I serving and loving him?  God has graciously given us three children, how are we raising them?  Is Christ the center of my very being?

To whom much is given, much is required.

What are we doing with what we have been given?  Does our life show our appreciation of all that we have been given?

I remember a few years back my husband and I were the recipients of an overwhelming gift given to us by someone we hardly knew.  That one persons generosity spurred in me a desire to be a more giving person.  I had felt loved, thought of, and their generosity overwhelmed me, and it caused me to want to be just like that!  To make others feel just as I was made to feel, loved and cared for!  What we were gifted with was earthly though, what Christ has given me is eternal!!  When I think about what Christ has given me, eternal life with Him, His grace, His peace, His provision, oh He has given SO much, how much more should I desire to share that with others!

I may not be able to fix all of the problems in the world, but I know the One who can.  Am I worrying instead of praying?  Do I trust that He really is in control?  Do I trust that one day all will be made right?  That no matter what a certain people group tries to say, no matter how much they try to flex their muscles and show their limited power, one day every knee will bow before Christ.  {Romans 14:11, “For it is written, As I live, saith the Lord, every knee shall bow to me, and every tongue shall confess to God.“} 

Yes, we have been given much, God has entrusted us with much to use wisely to further His kingdom.  What are we doing with what we have been given?

I love hearing from my readers!

