Checked off my reading list

At the beginning of the year I purposed to read more books this year!  I don’t have a ton of time to sit and read, and for some reason when I do sit down to read it makes me reeeeeally sleepy!  However, I have learned that if I squeeze in some reading time after my Bible reading and prayer in the morning while the house is still quiet, it works great!  I thought I would share a few books with you that I have enjoyed reading and hope they can be an encouragement to you as well!

My disclaimer is this: though I have enjoyed reading most of what is in these books, I do not agree with 100% of their writing.  So as my husband likes to say, “Take what you can but spit out the bones” 🙂  These are great books though and have been encouraging and also challenging!

The first one I read was Give Them Grace.  A great book about learning to give grace to your children.  I had been wanting to read this one and then one day it was free for the Kindle!

givethemgrace

Next, you all know because I have been writing about it 🙂  1000 Gifts is an excellent book!  Learning to give thanks in all things and for all things.  It has truly been life changing!

images.duckduckgo.com

Growing Up Duggar was on my list to read as well and my hubby gave it to me for my birthday!  There are a lot of practical helpful ideas on parenting!  It’s been a good read!

duggar

Parenting In the Pew is not a new read for us, but we have re-read it recently and it was just encouraging.  As a Pastor’s Wife I sit and parent in the pew on my own and sometimes with three children 7, 5, and 2 it can be a little tricky!  This was great to re-read and be reminded of helpful tips when it comes to parenting in the pew with my littles!

parenting

This book, Christ in the Chaos, was gifted to me by a fellow Pastor and his wife.  I love that it isn’t a long book because I feel like I can get through it in a  timely manner 🙂  It was a GREAT read though and packed full of encouraging and challenging thoughts.  I want to be the best mama I can be for my children so books like this are a great encouragement and I find they help to give me just the right push to keep on keeping on!

Christ

Next on the docket for my hubby and I is What Did You Expect.  We are looking forward to diving into that one.  I am on the hunt for my next personal read so let me know if youhave any great suggestions!

Are images are courtesy of duckduckgo.com

I love hearing from my readers!

