I want to follow God….. but……

When I was about 9 years old I remember the call of God on my life.  I remember playing one day and I could sense God speaking to my heart.  I remember He gave me a burden for people to hear the Truth, the Gospel and I wanted to share that truth with the world.  I was shy though, how could God use me?

One day I enrolled into college and I chose a specific major because I knew my parents really wanted me to go down that path.  But I was not happy, I knew I should have been majoring in Bible.  The joy was not there.

Then one day I was sitting in a church service and the preacher was saying, “Some of you in here know you are not in the major you are supposed to be in.  Some of you in here are in the field of education and you know that is not what God wants you to be studying.  You know He wants you to major in Bible!”  Wait, how did this guy know about the battle in my heart?

I called home that night and spoke with both of my parents, wanting their blessing to change my major. Neither one agreed to it that night.  So I prayed.  They had legitimate concerns, I mean what if God did not have marriage in mind for me?  How would I support myself?  To be honest, I didn’t have the answers.  All I knew was that God was saying, “Trust me, this is part of my plan!” and I wanted to follow Him!  Later on my mother called me and shared with me that I had her blessing but that she didn’t think my dad would give his as well.

So I prayed some more.

The very next day I received another call from home and the most amazing thing had happened.  My father had given his blessing!  I was free to change my major!  Um, THAT IS AMAZING! 🙂  Seeing God answer my prayer within even a short amount of time was truly incredible for me!

As you know, marriage was in God’s plans for my life!  After college we jumped into part time ministry with both feet and have served the Lord together as a married couple for 10 years now.

When my husband shared with me 2 years ago that he believed Christ was calling him to be a Pastor it scared the dickens out of me!  I mean, how could God use me as a Pastor’s wife?  I’m more shy than many like, not long before that I had been told by someone I would hold my husband back, they even went so far as to tell me that I would be a detriment to his ministry and if truth be told, I began to swallow the lies of the deceiver.

Never underestimate the power Satan will have over Christians who are not walking right with God.  He may not be able to indwell them but he can certainly use them to cause much hurt and ultimately hurt the name of Christ.  A close walk with the Lord as a Christian is crucial!

It was a struggle to accept the new path God was taking us down.  Yet, just as God had done before, as I prayed He gave peace.  He reminded me, “I made you just the way you are!  Though I am still working and molding and shaping you into the woman I desire you to be, I made you the way you are purposefully.  Don’t let the chatter of others all around you cause distractions.  Don’t allow yourself to take your eyes off of Me.  Their opinions are not the ones that matter.  I am your I AM and I want to use you in this way.”

It took some time, as in a few months time but eventually I submitted to the plans God had.  I handed Him my fears and stood with my husband, hands clasped to his.

That was a year and a half ago.

It had always been a dream of ours to help out a smaller church.  To find a church that was dying and to plug ourselves in and see how the Lord would work!

A year and a half later it truly feels like we are living the dream!!  We are living in an area I never imagined!  This California girl never thought she would live in southern belle country! 🙂  Yet, I like to call moments like these “But God” moments.  But God intervened!

He planted us down south, He prepared a ministry He knew we would be the perfect fit for and He brought some amazing people into our lives!  When we began ministering there was just a little over a handful of people and this past week can I tell you how THRILLING it was to see 75 people enter our church doors?  It has been incredible to see God work and grow in this church body!  The glory goes to God for the great things He is doing!!

Seeing all that God has done, all that He is continuing to do, I cannot imagine us anywhere else.  I cannot imagine where we would be had we listened to our “nay sayers”.

So where does God have you?  Is He asking you to trust Him?  Do you have “nay sayers” in your life trying to discourage you?  If I could give you just one piece of encouragement it would be this.  God has amazing plans for you!  God wants to use you right where you are!  Though the enemy will use others to try and bring you down, to get you to doubt God’s perfect plan, though he will use others {sometimes even Christians} to get you to take your eyes off of Christ in an attempt to make you think their opinion is the one that matters instead of God’s, don’t listen!  Keep your eyes on Christ!  Block out the other noise and listen for His still small voice!

Is. 55:8-9 says, For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord.  For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

God has amazing plans for you!!  His plans and thoughts are so much higher than you could have ever imagined for yourself!  Trust Him!  Follow His path!  You will not live a life full of regret if you choose to say “YES!” to Him and His plans for you!

One last note: the areas in your life looked upon as weaknesses by you and/or others provide perfect opportunity for God to step in and show you even more your need of Him in your life! Our weaknesses and personality differences were not placed in our lives to give us an excuse to run from God’s plan.  Oh no, they were given to us so we would run to Him!!  His strength is made perfect in our weakness!

2 Corinthians 12:9, “And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

Let God use you TODAY!

One thought on “I want to follow God….. but……

I love hearing from my readers!

