Keep Calm and Mother On!

It was a day I spent kicking myself for simply, well, being me!  Wondering if my failures as a mama {that seemed to be so many!} were going to cause my children to turn from the Lord instead of turning to Him! I sat down at a table, opened up a book I had been reading about mothering and wasn’t two paragraphs in before I found myself silently saying, “Yes!! Yes, THIS is exactly how I feel!”

Have you ever read a book like that?  Where it felt like the author was writing your story?  Somehow she had gotten into your head, read your thoughts, and then wrote a book just for you?  Ya, that was how I was feeling that day.

I was at our local pregnancy center waiting for clients.  It was a slow morning so I had opportunity to read for a few moments.  Another volunteer came in the room, sat across from me and as I set my book down she asked, “Whatcha reading?”

I shared with her the title and a little bit about what the book was about.  To be honest, even though I was enjoying the book, it was at times  reminding me of my failures and I found myself blurting out, “I just want to be a godly mother!  I don’t want my weaknesses and struggles to mess my kids up!”

She sat there graciously listening, she is about 20 years my Sr. and is just the sweetest soul you ever did meet!  I love to hear her pray, I love to be in her presence.  She is one of those people whom you know loves the Lord because He is radiating through her!

“Wendy,” she began, “just remember, even though you have a lot you have and still are investing in your children to grow up and be godly adults, don’t forget God is investing in them even more!   As much as you love your children, God loves them even more and desires for them to walk closely with Him even more than you do!!”  She continued to speak words of encouragement and I felt like a sponge, soaking up her words of encouragement and wisdom.

She was right.

I can easily forget that God desires for my children to walk closely with Him even more than I do!  He has the ability to use our weaknesses to point our children to their need of Him.  Isn’t that incredible?  As He said in 2 Corinthians 12:9, “And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”  Yes, His grace is sufficient! His strength is actually made perfect in my weakness!

I think sometimes we as Mama’s spend so much time beating ourselves up over our faults and failures that it causes us to begin to look more inward than we do looking at Christ.  Satan doesn’t care what it is that takes our eyes off of Christ, just so long as they are off of Christ!  If I am constantly dwelling on, “Yes, I blew it again!” and stay there wallowing in my failure, my eyes will wander from Christ and plant themselves on me!

Don’t get me wrong, it is incredibly important to admit to our wrongdoings, seek forgiveness both from Christ and from the one we wronged, but then once all is made right, get back up and keep going!  Proverbs 24:16a reminds us just of that!  It says, “For a just man falleth seven times, and riseth up again: “

Here’s the thing, we are going to keep falling.  Encouraging right?! 😉  It’s true though, we all have that sin nature in us.  We will grump at our families, speak more harshly than we ought or intend to, we will be selfish at times and the list can go on!  However, God’s grace is sufficient.  His strength is made perfect in our weakness!  As He reveals our sin to us we ought to confess and forsake it!  Striving to gain victory over it through the help of Christ, but when we fall, it isn’t the end of the world!  Make it right then keep on going!

Christ is investing in the lives of my children {and yours!}, He is molding thkeepcalmem into who He wants them to be, He is loving them and pursuing them even more than I am, and I love them so deeply I don’t even know how to put it into words!!  That’s a lot of love for these little ones!

Be encouraged precious Mama, God is using you to bring up these little ones to follow hard after Him.  Don’t beat yourself up over the mistakes you {and I!} make throughout our days.  Confess, forsake, then get back up and keep on mothering!

*Image courtesy of duckduckgo.com

One thought on “Keep Calm and Mother On!

  1. This is so well-written. You said it all perfectly. I have been beating myself up a lot lately about my failures, which are so innumerable. Thank you for the reminder that God can use me, even in my failures.
    I love the image, too. I didn’t know it was out there, but I used the same phrase for a blog recently. Keep calm and mother on. Love that. 🙂

I love hearing from my readers!

