The Man on the Corner

He was dirty.  His hair was matted down.  His clothing had not been washed in what appeared to be a long time.  He sat on a divider in the road and held up a sign made of cardboard.  As many cars pulled up to the stop light they avoided eye contact with him and pushed the lock button on their doors.  He made them feel….. uncomfortable.

“Share Me with that man” was what Christ said to my heart.  It wasn’t audible, but it was definitely Him.  “Honey, we need to get that man a meal.” I whispered to my husband.  We had made a decision awhile back that when we saw someone like this we would stop purposefully to get them a hot meal.  “Yes, we do.  Where should we pick it up from?” he asked?

There wasn’t a fast food restaurant within a close proximity.  We pulled into a parking lot and discovered a deli we had never been to.  My hubby let me off at the curb and I went in.  It smelled divine!  Hot food cooking, happy chatter from tables all around, and yet that man was the only thing on my mind.

I ordered a pasta dish that came with some garlic bread that smelled incredible.  Filled a glass with water and briskly walked back to the car.  “I hope he’s still on the corner!” I said to my husband as I climbed back into the car.  As we pulled out of the parking lot my heart skipped a beat as I saw him, still sitting there on the median, holding his sign.

The timing was perfect, the light turned red and we were stopped right next to him.  My husband rolled down his window, “Sir, could you use a hot meal?” he asked.  The man’s eyes brightened up instantly.  He made his way to us and my husband said, “We picked this meal up just for you.”  The shock on his face was obvious.  Then he began to say things that I never expected him to say.

He could hear our children chattering in the car.  Our two year old had found something funny and was making her brother and sister giggle along with her!  Two year olds have that ability!

The man said, “I see you have some children.  Be sure to hold them tightly.  Keep raising them in Christ.  He is going to take care of you, look how He is taking care of me!”  The conversation continued a few minutes longer and as our light turned green he picked up his back pack and began walking away from the intersection.

I don’t know that mans story.  I don’t know if he was really a vet like his sign said.  Yet what he said made me stop and ponder.  “I wonder why he told us to keep raising our children in Christ.  That isn’t a typical thing we hear from those on the streets.  The fact that he said to raise them ‘in Christ’ is unique.”  What if that man on the corner was images.duckduckgo.comactually an angel I thought.  Okay okay, I’m sure the “she may be looney today!” thoughts have begun to filter through your mind.  However, Scripture does tell us that we do at times entertain angels unaware!  Hebrews 13:2 states,

Be not forgetful to entertain strangers: for thereby some have entertained angels unawares.

I don’t know who he was, but I am thankful for God’s prompting on our hearts to minister to this man.  Oftentimes it is so easy to simply drive on by and ignore them.  I have been guilty far to many times of this very thing.  It is easier to sit in my car, completely comfortable, silently judging these people and why they are living on the street.  Yet Matthew 25:40 says,

And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.”

That meal cost us $10, which is nothing really.  Not when we consider God is able to use the simple offering of food for this physical need the man had and the tract inside the bag of food to point him to the One who could meet his spiritual need.  A small price to pay to share Christ with this man.

So my challenge to you and I today as we go throughout our day today and every day, what is one thing that we can do today to share the love of Jesus with someone?  There are many around us in need of Christ’s love today.  They are closer than we may think.  Send a note in the mail, make a phone call, deliver a hot meal, pray for someone and then let them know, give anonymously, there are so many ways that we can share HIM with others!

Matthew 25:35-40, “For I was an hungred, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in:Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me. Then shall the righteous answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, and fed thee? or thirsty, and gave thee drink?  When saw we thee a stranger, and took thee in? or naked, and clothed thee? Or when saw we thee sick, or in prison, and came unto thee? And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.”

Love like Christ loved us!  Love is an action!  Do something today to let others know they are loved by Christ and cared for by you!  Let Christ use you to meet a need today!

4 thoughts on “The Man on the Corner

  1. Thank you for sharing. So many times I have allowed an opportunity to slip through my fingers because I am to scared or hurried to do what I should do. I am going to be more mindful. Thank you!

  2. Thank you so much for sharing. I’m reading in tears. My dad was “that man on the corner” for several years, before suffering significant brain damage due to an overdose of prescription medication. He now receives three hot meals a day as the resident of a nursing home, and he most likely doesn’t even know it. Every homeless person I’ve come upon in the last ten years has been my dad, in my eyes. I stopped. I prayed if I couldn’t. It doesn’t matter how they got there, really, does it? Their souls and mine… they look exactly the same in my Heavenly Father’s eyes. Thank you for sharing this, and for sharing the truth that so many homeless souls can be used to encourage us in just as great of a way as we can encourage them with a meal or a few dollars.

    • You are so right, it doesn’t matter how the homeless people get there. Their souls are worth just as much to God as mine! Thanks for sharing and for letting me know you stopped by!

I love hearing from my readers!

