Not a Nobody but God’s somebody!

Has God ever asked you to step outside of your comfort zone?

Ya, me too.

Have you ever made excuses for why your comfort zone was comfortable and you would like to remain there thankyouverymuch!

Yes, guilty as charged!

When God began to impress upon my heart to write, not just on a blog where only a sprinkling of people may find it and read it, but when He said, “Write a book!” at first I was excited!  Writing has been a dream of mine since I was tee tiny!

As a child I always wrote little stories and as I grew my passion for writing grew along with me.

But then, God asked me to make myself vulnerable and share one of the stories He so intricately wrote for my life.  Wait, what?

The stories I envisioned writing were not the story He was asking me to write.  I had dreams of devotionals, Christian living, books on being a wife and a mother!  This story that He was clearly having me write was, um, not any of that!

So as I wrote and wrote, and clicked away at the computer keys, I started coming up with reasons of why I should not be the one to do this project.

Here’s just a sampling,

1. It was waaaaay to personal

2. It was hard

3. How would I find a publisher?

4. Why would anyone want to read my writing?

5. (and this is my latest one) I’m just a nobody!

Have you ever felt like a “nobody”?

I was never part of the popular crowd growing up.  In high school other girls had a way of making sure I knew I was not part of “them” and “their crowd”.  I look back on pictures of my high school years, oy!  The clothes!  The hair!  {What was I thinking?!}  In college, again not part of the “in” crowd.  I didn’t have the right last name, or I didn’t play sports, or I wasn’t involved musically.  You know how it goes.  I did have some WONDERFUL friends that I love dearly to this day, but I wasn’t popular at all.  I felt like a nobody.

So now here I am, getting ready to publish a book.  The story is written, the edits are about to be finished, and yet the other day I found myself saying, “Lord, who will want to read this?  How can I get the word out about this book?  I’m just a nobody!”  A bit self-absorbed I’m sure, but if I’m going to be honest on here, you’ve got to see the pretty and the ugly 🙂

That’s when He reminded me.   Remember Moses way back in the book of Exodus?  He and I are like one in the same when it comes to making excuses before the Lord!  God gave him a job to do and He began to make excuses of why he was not the right man for the job.  Then God stopped him and reminded him in Exodus 4:11 & 12,

“And the LORD said unto him, Who hath made man’s mouth? or who maketh the dumb, or deaf, or the seeing, or the blind? have not I the LORD?  Now therefore go, and I will be with thy mouth, and teach thee what thou shalt say.

It was as if God said to me, “Wendy, I gave you this story.  I wrote this story for your life so that you would let me use it to bring glory to Me!  Don’t you know I know right where you are in life?  Don’t you think I will be the One to go before you and this book?  Don’t you know that I am your ‘I AM’?”

And as He often does, He reminded me of a few “nobody’s” in Scripture whom God used to do incredible things for Him!

The first one was Esther!  Oh I love the book of Esther!  Maybe it is the hopeless romantic in me, but what a story!!  Esther was an orphan being raised by her cousin!  She was a simple Jewish girl.  God used the rebellion of Vashti to get her out of the way so that He could lift up Esther into her position.  Not only did Esther become queen but she also helped to save her entire nation from utter annihilation!  God went before Esther and because she was a willing vessel He was able to work through her to save His chosen people!

Then there is Joseph.  The favored son of his Daddy Jacob and the hated one by his brothers.  They sold him into slavery.  Talk about being in the bottom of the “nobody” barrel!  Yet, because he was faithful to God, God raised him up to become a powerful ruler!  He also was used by God to save hundreds of thousands of lives during a famine in their land.

The point is this. 1 Corinthians 1:27 states,

“But God hath chosen the foolish things of the world to confound the wise; and God hath chosen the weak things of the world to confound the things which are mighty;

It doesn’t matter if you were the least popular girl in school, if your clothing never had the brand name others approved of, if you drive the fanciest car (let’s hear it for mini van mama’s!!!), or live in the tiniest house on the block.  What does matter is that you first of all realize that in God’s eyes you are never a nobody!  You are deeply loved by our Almighty God!  Check out what Isaiah 43:1-4 says,

Fear not: for I have redeemed thee, I have called thee by thy name; thou art mine.  When thou passest through the waters, I will be with thee; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee: when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee.  For I am the Lord thy God, the Holy One of Israel, thy Saviour: I gave Egypt for thy ransom, Ethiopia and Seba for thee.   Since thou wast precious in my sight, thou hast been honourable, and I have loved thee: therefore will I give men for thee, and people for thy life.”

That is a lot of love!

Also, God simply wants you to be willing to let Him use you!  He wants you to be a willing vessel that He can fill to the brim with His love and grace so that you can pour out that love and grace on others!  He wants us to be willing to step out of our comfort zones so that He can use us to the max, all for His glory!

I don’t know where God has you today and what He is asking you to do, but I can promise you this.  Whatever it is, He will go before you!  He will pave the way!  Never forget He is your I AM, everything you need in every single moment.  Let Him use you today!

6 thoughts on “Not a Nobody but God’s somebody!

  1. I love the stories of Esther and Joseph, because they believed in God and they persevere in moments of trial and affliction. But God was with them! Thanks for sharing and encouraging me. Nice to meet you. Stopping by from #DancewithJesus Link UP.

    Love and Blessings,
    Tayrina from TGAWrites

  2. Thank you for your transparency. I too am currently working on a book project and seeking a publisher. Your post was EXACTLY what I needed to read. Thank you. Stopping by from #DanceWithJesus

  3. Wow, this could have been me writing this! I know that God has given me a love for writing, and I have always wanted to be a writer. Then He prompted me to start sharing my story of healing from childhood abuse – so I began a blog thinking no one will really want to read this. Who am I to offer encouragement, etc. I have also had thoughts of a book swirling – scary, so vulnerable, like you said. But I see His hand at work in my life, and I know He is faithful. So maybe, someday?!
    Blessings,
    Kamea

I love hearing from my readers!

