Fight For Your Marriage not Against It!

Have you ever had a wake up call?

I’m not talking about the phone literally ringing and waking you up at dark thirty in the morning.  Rather, I’m talking about a wake up call in life.  A time when circumstances or events in your life alter you and the path you are on and make you really consider where you are headed.

That is what happened this weekend to me.

A shock.  A devastating shock.  Brokenness in an instant for a dear friend in my life.

The news caused me to stop, take a look at my life and my priorities in it and ask God to reveal to me anything that needs to be removed, or areas that need more protecting.

Yes, this conversation shook my world.

My dear dear readers, I come to you today with a heart full of passion for you to see the importance of the vows you made before God to the man God gifted you with on your wedding day.

Yes, that’s right, your spouse is a God given gift!

Before I met my husband I spent hours, literally hours, praying for him.  I poured myself over my Bible, I dove into books about being a godly woman and wife.  I was serious about my walk with God because I wanted what God wanted for me!

Then I met and eventually married my now husband and here’s the clincher that we often forget.  That passion I had for praying over my future husband, the time I spent in God’s Word, it should never stop. If anything it should deepen and gain more momentum.  Great marriages don’t just happen!

Everything that God is for Satan is against.  God is for marriage so therefore Satan must be against it.  And let me tell you friend, he is against it. He is dead set on ending marriages, breaking families, ruining lives.  It is truly devastating.

Having time with God, in His Word and talking with Him through prayer is key to having a godly marriage.  Spending time praying together as a couple, reading His Word, reading books on marriage together, is key to having a God-honoring relationship.  love

As we walk this path of marriage God must remain in the center.  He is the glue that keeps us together!  When we remove God from our relationship with our spouse we simply become two sinners walking the same road.  We are all sinners, we all make mistakes, we all mess things up, and God is the One that teaches us to forgive, to love, to show grace and mercy.  He must stay in the equation.   When He stays in the relationship with us marriage truly becomes a beautiful thing!

Friends, I have stared the devastating results of divorce in the face as I have stood by others who have gone and are going through it.  It is not pretty.  I have heard the pleas of children crying, I have seen the sadness on their faces. It is devastating.  Yes, God forgives, His grace is still showered, but the hurt, that is still there.  A family is still broken.

It seems that the word divorce does not carry much shock with it these days.  It’s one of those, “everyone is doing it” kind of things.  May I remind us all, just because “everyone seems to be doing it” doesn’t make it the right thing to do.

Friends, never let a day go by without purposefully showing your greatmarriagespouse you love them.  Fight for your marriage!  Don’t let up!  Pray with and for your spouse throughout every day!  Give no room for Satan to wriggle in between the two of you.  Be putting on the armor of God daily so that when temptations arise that armor will be able to deflect the temptation.  The temptation itself is not the sin, what we do with that temptation can lead to sin.

Marriage is such a beautiful picture of Christ and His bride, the church.  Make the choice to daily unwrap the gift of your mate.  Forgive, move forward, show them the same grace that God has shown you, shower them with love.  Speak their love language loud and clear.  Date each other!  Do fun things together!  Be each others best friend!  Pray with and for them!  Let Satan know that even though he is against your marriage, God and you are for it!  Remember, greater is He that is in you than he that is in the world. {1 John 4:4}  Your marriage is worth the fight!

Make it a point today to let your husband know just how much you love him!

7 thoughts on “Fight For Your Marriage not Against It!

  1. This is so great. Marriage is so tough! Two sinners trying to love each other imperfectly. And divorce is so full of pain!!
    Thank you for this. I shared it on twitter.
    #DanceWithJesus

  2. I am reading Francis Chan’s book on marriage. He reminds us powerfully that our marriages like our lives are purposed to bring glory to God. A powerful reason to fight.

I love hearing from my readers!

