Trusting the Lord, Not our heart

You all (yes, I live in the south but have not caved into using the phrase “ya’ll…..) I have a confession.

I feel silly admitting this, but I suppose it is time to get it out in the open.

I am in love with Hobby Lobby.
Can I get an amen from a sister?

Seriously.  Those decorations… they make me weak in the knees at times!  Absolutely adorable home decorations beckon me constantly to come and swoon over them!

So there I was, pushing my shopping cart (ya, because no one should walk around that store without a shopping cart…. I mean, for reals!  Come in prepared!) through the painted canvas and painted wood signs area.  There it stood.  The lettering was perfect, the colors matched my girls room, and it tempted me just a smidgen.  I thought, “Oh, this is SO cute!” and yet I could not let myself pick it up, purchase it, and hang it on their wall.

Even though the colors and lettering were amazing, the words were whatheart held me back.  “Follow your heart” is what it said.

It seems so innocent, right?  It sounds so sweet and we all want to cheer, “Yes! Follow your heart!” and that right there is the trap.

In Jeremiah 17:9 God plainly lays it out for us,

The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it?”

Our hearts can play tricks on us.

The heart can deceive us.

Truth is, the heart tends to be QUITE fickle!

Sin can lurk in the depths of it, and God has told us, if we regard iniquity in our hearts He will not hear us. {Psalm 66:18}

“Even though this sign is SO cute, I just can’t bring myself to buy it and hang it up in my daughters room!  I would be completely sending mixed messages.”  Yes, I was that crazy lady in the isle conversing with myself in my head over this sign.

As we raise up our children we are training them to seek the Lord, to trust Him with their heart, to keep a diligent heart, for out of it will flow this issues of life. {Proverbs 4:23}  Knowing what Scripture says about our heart, why would I hang a picture up in our home that says “Follow Your Heart”?

It’s how Satan works.  He makes sin look so appealing!  He wraps it in fancy packages, sets it at eye level, and then waits.  He lures us in with how attractive it may seem and then in one fowl swoop we have swallowed his lies whole!  Yet, once we have swallowed them they are not nearly as sweet as we had envisioned them.

Our hearts cannot be trusted.

Instead, Proverbs 3:5-6 tells us to trust in the Lord, not in our hearts and our own understanding.

Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.  In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.”

Trusting in Christ will lead us down a much better path than if we simply follow what our hearts tell us to do.

At the end of my shopping trip, that cute little sign stayed right where it was.  Though I have the perfect spot on the wall of my girls room for just the right decoration, I know that what I put on the walls of my house do matter.  I long to point my family to the Lord, to fill their hearts and minds with truth.  So that spot will sit bare on their wall for now, and I’m okay with that!

Hobby Lobby, I will be back!

image courtesy of duckduckgo.com

2 thoughts on “Trusting the Lord, Not our heart

I love hearing from my readers!

