A Study Through Proverbs 31

As we open up God’s Word to Proverbs 31:10, I instantly feel at home.  Many years ago I made it a goal to memorize this passage of Scripture.  Memories of sitting on my bed in high school, my lamp on the night stand turned on, the Bible my youth pastor had given me opened on my lap, I worked and worked at memorizing this special part of God’s Word.  It isn’t that all of His Word isn’t special, because it is!  All of it is and all of it contains valuable lessons for all of us!  However, this, yes this passage of Scripture is a passage I thought, “This is for me because I am a woman!  This is how I should live my life!”

Proverbs 31:10 begins with a question,

Who can find a virtuous woman? for her price is far above rubies.

Who can find a virtuous woman?

This question makes me think, because the question is asked, someone must be looking for her!  In a world where fights are begin fought over woman’s rights and equalities, the temptation women seem to be having to prove that they are equal to if not greater than men, makes me think we have lost something.  In all of the fighting to prove something, we have forgotten virtue.

What exactly is virtue?

Well, if you were to hop on google, this is the definition you would find:

            “behavior showing high moral standards.”

Wow.  When I look around at our society I would definitely say we have lost that behavior.  High moral standards are looked at as old fashioned or out of date, but that is not how God feels.

What is the definition of moral standards?

Again, going to google this is what one would find:

moral, ethical, virtuous, righteous, noble mean conforming to a standard of what is right and good. moral implies conformity to established sanctioned codes or accepted notions of right and wrong

So going back to our verse for today, we could ask this, “Where are the women who behave with high moral standards?  Where are the women who conform to a standard of what is right and good?”

Because Scripture is asking the question of where these women are, this makes me believe that these kinds of women must not be easy to find.

But Scripture goes even further!

Since these women are hard to find there is a high price put on them!  They are valuable!  The end of verse 10 goes so far as to say “for her price is far above rubies“.

Have any of you all priced rubies lately?

A ruby is considered to be one of four precious stones.  Therefore it is rather costly.  Pricing a piece of red ruby jewelry alone starts just below $1,000 and quickly jumps up in price frorubym there.  The more clear and greater the size the gem, the higher the value of it.

A virtuous woman, her worth is valuable, Scripture even says her worth is “far above rubies”.  Her worth goes far beyond the value of a precious gem.  I find it interesting that God uses a ruby to describe the value of her…… a precious stone…. so a virtuous woman is a precious one!

Could it be that she is precious because she is rare?   Gems that are hard to find are much more valuable.  Because virtuous women are hard to find they are much more valuable.

So how does this apply to us?

My desire is that as we study this passage and learn what a virtuous woman looks like, our hearts will be opened.  That as God reveals areas we may need work on, we will be tender and willing to learn what God has for the both of us.

One thought on “A Study Through Proverbs 31

  1. I am thankful that God honors these type of women. As you so rightfully point out, they are so rare. May we be the modern day virtue carriers. Thank you for encouraging my heart to be rare. Cheering you on from the #RaRalinkup on Purposeful Faith.

I love hearing from my readers!

