Study Through Proverbs 31

Proverbs 31:11-12,The heart of her husband doth safely trust in her, so that he shall have no need of spoil. She will do him good and not evil all the days of her life.”

Trust.  If we could sit down this morning over a cup of coffee and discuss this simple yet powerful word, how do you think you would describe it?

My children are young and they are constantly asking me to define new words they hear.  Sometimes I have a difficult time coming up with definitions to words that I have always seemed to know and use often, but the curious minds of my children just want to know what they mean!  My sister and I have laughed on more than one occasion because of this very thing and our feeble attempts at trying to define these simple every day words!  I think I may need to stick one of those pocket Webster dictionaries in my purse to easily have on hand!

Trust is a word we all seem to be able to easily define. I do not have trust in the spider that I find crawling around!  In fact, I refuse to look away from such creepy crawly because I fear that as soon as I do he will attack and swallow me whole!  Even though his size and mine would make that absolutely impossible, I still have that fear! So I keep an ever watchful eye on him until my sweet hero (also known as my husband) comes along and smooshes him!

When it comes to my husband though, I have a lot of trust in him.  I trust that he can kill that spider and save the day!  I have trust in him to provide for our family, I trust that he will keep my secret things secret, I trust him to stay faithful to our vows.  I trust him with most everything!  But can he have a lot of trust in me?

Our verses today deal with our husband and our relationship to him.

Can the heart of my husband trust me?  Does he know that the decisions I make, I will make with him in mind? Can he trust that things he shares in private will stay private?  Can he trust that I will never speak ill of him to others?  Can he trust that I will daily lift him up in prayer? Can he trust that I will be wise with our finances?  Can he trust that I will be faithful to him?

Trust.  According to Websters online dictionary, trust can be defined as, “confidence placed in a person”

The virtuous woman lives her life in such a way that her husband has no need to doubt his trust in her.  He has confidence in her.  He does not have to worry about conversations she will have, decisions she will need to make when he is not present, he has confidence she will hold to the vows she made to him.

Read on!

“She will do him good and not evil all the days of her life.”

He trusts her because she has earned that trust.  She has shown him that she will only ever do him good!  She will not gossip about him, she will not be frivolous in her spending, she will not flirt with other men!  She will be faithful to God and in turn be faithful to him!  She will protect her marriage and her relationship with her husband.  She does not look for opportunities to share the hidden matters of his heart.

He trusts her.

We all know that trust is earned and can take a long time to gain.  Yet, in an instant it can vanish away.  All of the work we have done to earn the trust of another can be gone in a moment!

So now I ask us, are our husbands able to trust us?  Do our husbands know that we will only do them good?  Are we striving to be like this virtuous woman and only do him good and not evil?

In a world where so many marriages are in trouble it is of utmost importance to protect our marriages.  To only seek good for our husband, to keep the trust we have earned!  To strive for excellence in our marriages and to stay above reproach!

As long as God gives us breath, let us keep on striving to be like this godly example of a virtuous woman!  Be the rare ruby in this world full of false gems.

4 thoughts on “Study Through Proverbs 31

  1. Great blog! Trust is so important in a marriage and if it’s broken it has to be so hard to retain that trust. We are blessed in our marriage to have this trust between us. It starts with being unselfish, thinking about the other person.

  2. I want my husband to trust me. I want him to know that I am 100% invested in helping him. However, I often think I let feel rule me. This is what gets on the way. I am praying for God to help me with this. Thank you for prompting my heart. Cheering you on from the #RaRalinkup on Purposeful Faith.

I love hearing from my readers!

