I’m not a farmer but I can help with the harvest!

Dinner had just been made.  Homemade taco salads, complete with the homemade tortilla bowl.. Oh yes I did!  Heavenly!

I got the kids plates ready and filled with food.  I sat down and had just began to fill my own salad bowl when the phone rang.

Typically we don’t answer the phone during dinner.  We are pretty selfish when it comes to dinner around the table with family.  However, we hadn’t yet prayed, hadn’t yet begun.  I had just literally sat down in my seat.

Because of the phone number, I answered.

A few weeks back we had something AMAZING happen in our Awana program.  One of our little Sparks accepted Christ as their Savior!  Absolutely incredible!  We as a family have actually been praying for this family’s salvation for over a year now.

The person on the phone was this child’s mom.

“Hey_____ how are you doing?” I answered.

The conversation took off from their and it went in a way I had never ever expected.

Let me preface this by saying, just Sunday evening my husband had preached a message on Grace, a new series he has just begun.  Anyway, one of the things he said was a challenge to all of us to pray that God would bring someone across our path this week to share Christ with.

Now, back to the phone call.

“Wendy”, she began, “I would like to talk with you and your husband.  You know my child came home a few weeks back and told us about getting saved.  Well, my child has been saying things, asking things that I just do not know the answer to!”

“Okay,” I replied, “What kind of things?”

“Well, my child came up to me last night and said, ‘Mom, I was laying in bed and I got scared.’ So I asked what caused the fear and my child asked, ‘Mom, I’m scared you may not go to Heaven.  Are you saved?’  Wendy, I didn’t know what she meant!  I don’t know what it means to be saved.”  She then proceeded to share with me about the different things she has done that make her believe she is saved.  All of which were common Catholic practices.  She had explained all of these things she has done to her child and her child simply replied, “Ya, but mom, are you saved?”

Whoa.

At that point this parent shared with me her desire for my husband and I to sit down with her entire family and explain salvation to them.  “Please, tell us about what it means to be saved and if we aren’t saved then please, help us get saved!!  We want to be saved!”

Friends, the fields are ripe.

John 4:35 states, “Say not ye, There are yet four months, and then cometh harvest? behold, I say unto you, Lift up your eyes, and look on the fields; for they are white already to harvest.field

This, this is what makes ministry worth it all.  Souls being saved!  Souls desiring to hear truth for the first time in their lives!  The moment they allow God to pull back the blinders from their eyes and reveal to them the truth of the Gospel!

So often we, those who claim to be Christians, fear sharing Christ with others.  We fear rejection, we withhold Christ from the ones who need to hear of salvation!

Charles Spurgeon stated, “If sinners be damned, at least let them leap to Hell over our dead bodies. And if they perish, let them perish with our arms wrapped about their knees, imploring them to stay. If Hell must be filled, let it be filled in the teeth of our exertions, and let not one go unwarned and unprayed for.”

Though there will be some not interested in hearing about Christ, there are those who are craving to hear about Him and just don’t realize He is who they have been searching for!  The fields truly are ripe unto harvest, what are we doing to help harvest them?

Image courtesy

2 thoughts on “I’m not a farmer but I can help with the harvest!

  1. What a wonderful story and answer to prayer! YES. THIS is why we have children’s programs like Awana and Vacation Bible School, etc. Because a little child will lead them! God uses so many avenues to reach people for him. What a blessing. And I love the Spurgeon quote – “let them leap over our dead bodies to get there”. Oh that we would be sensitive and serving, open to the opportunities right in front of us! Let us not fear rejection and withhold the hope of Christ!
    Praise the Lord for these decisions!
    I’m your neighbor today on #livefree Thursday, nice to meet you. 🙂

I love hearing from my readers!

