A Study in Proverbs 31

” She considereth a field, and buyeth it: with the fruit of her hands she planteth a vineyard. She girdeth her loins with strength, and strengtheneth her arms. She perceiveth that her merchandise is good: her candle goeth not out by night.  She layeth her hands to the spindle, and her hands hold the distaff.”  Proverbs 31:16-19

So, I am not a farmer.  I know absolutely nothing about fields and crops, where good ground is to plant a garden or even flowers for that matter!  I grew up in the city and I enjoyed my city life!  We lived about a half mile away from an interstate and the sound never bothered me.  The light from street lights didn’t keep me up at night and my neighbors lived fairly close.

My years growing up in a city of California are vastly different from where God has planted us now!  Right in the country, plenty of area to plant a garden….which I did grow last year and learned a valuable lesson….. if you plant cucumbers they will come!  And keep coming and take over your entire garden if they are allowed to!  Yikes! 🙂

So gardening is not my forte and as I read these verses I begin to think, “Um…. I’m not sure I can be like the lady of Proverbs 31 because I just don’t understand fields and dirt!”

Thank goodness that the lady of Proverbs 31 isn’t limited to just purchasing fields!  She can be business savvy, make profits on what she sells, and save money!  Let’s make this lesson as practical as can be!

I have not worked outside of the home since we had children so I do not bring in a paycheck for our family in any way.  It is very important to me though to be wise with the paycheck my husband brings home!

Lets all give three cheers for clearance racks!!  When our older two children were really small I would shop the clearance racks at Kohls and Target because goodness, I could outfit them in adorable clothes for pennies on the dollar!  Shopping a season or two in advance and storing those clothes until they were ready to wear them has saved us a bunch of money!  Shopping sales at the grocery store helps, and learning to bargain is tremendous!

My dad used to be the dickering king!  He was a natural born salesman and enjoyed the challenge of getting a price as low as he could in order to stretch a dollar.  He had a family of 7 to feed, so making money stretch was important!

We all can learn to be good stewards of the finances the Lord entrusts is with.  Learning to stretch a dollar is a great trick to learn and really allows you to save and also give!

The virtuous woman is not just business savvy but also a hard worker.  She is up working hard for the Lord and her family!  Not sleeping the day away, not slacking on priorities.  She is diligent to get done what needs to be done.  Let’s face it, there is nothing glamorous about cleaning a bathroom, even if it is your own! However, it is something that needs to be done!  Laundry, dishes, vacuuming and mopping, dusting, making beds, all of these things are both necessary and what helps keep a home running smoothly.  Our life was not meant to be lived on a couch or bent over an iphone.  He wants us to be busy diligently completing the tasks He has given us to do!

As we begin our day today, let’s be more like this lady of Proverbs 31!  Being wise stewards of God’s blessings, working hard, taking care of our health, and being diligent in what God has called us to do!

I love hearing from my readers!

