Two Truths for Mama’s

As a mother my job is to care for and raise my children well.  Like most parents, my husband and I have taught our children to treat each other kindly, to not talk to strangers, as we walk across parking lots we look similar to a mother duck with all her ducklings in tow.  We have taught our children to stop before crossing the street, always tell the truth, chew their food before swallowing and on the list can go!  The typical parental guidance takes place often as we train and care for our children.  But what do we do, when the unexpected happens?  Things that happen so far outside of our control that can quickly escalate to an emergency type of situation, what then?

Over the weekend our family was outside enjoying the beautiful weather….. okay, let’s be honest, we live in the heart of the south, it was muggy outside!  Our older two children were playing in the pool having a splashing good time and our youngest was playing with the sand in the sandbox.  My husband and I were outside keeping an eye on all three when our youngest came up and said in her cute little 2 year old voice, “Mama, a ant bite me!”  I examined her foot that she was holding up to me but she was squirmy and really wanted to get back to playing so I walked with her back over to her sandbox.

We live in fire ant country.  Those nasty critters can build ant beds faster than you can blink your eye!  They are ready and waiting to chomp at anything that gets to close for their comfort, including the tender toes of a toddler.  Upon a close examination we found no ant beds near the sand box and our youngest wanted to keep playing.  I kept an eye on her though and not 30 seconds later she came to me saying once again an ant had bit her toe.  At that point I decided to take her inside and before I could even get to the latch on our fence her toes began to swell up something awful.  By the time we got inside her foot was swollen.  I laid her on the couch and gave her some Benadryl and her water.

Just a few minutes later I looked at her face and it was swelling up and covered in hives.  Upon further examination, hives were covering her entire body, head to toe.  A quick call to urgent care later we piled everyone in the car and took off for the ER.  Her voice had become raspy and her lips and even her eyes were swelling right up.

Friends, this mama was scared!  As we sped down the road I frantically prayed over and over, “Please God, don’t take her!  Please spare her life!”

As a mother my job is to protect my children and at that point in time I felt completely helpless.  There was nothing I could do to help her take deep breaths, nothing I could do for her itchy hives in her ears, I did the only thing I really could do in that moment and I prayed!

As I think about all of us as mothers working hard caring for and loving our children, there are two simple truths I want to encourage us with.

First of all, remember that God loves our children even more than we do.  As a mama, you know how much love is in your heart for your child!  Though some have tried, no mama has ever been capable of truly explaining the depth of love she has for her children because there just are not words in our language to describe it!  As we ponder on the depth of love we have for our children, think about how much more love God has for them!  After all, He created them!!  He knit them together in the womb, He knows everything there is to know about them!  His love far surpasses our love for them!     Matthew 7:11, “If ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children, how much more shall your Father which is in heaven give good things to them that ask him?” and I John 3:1,”Behold, what manner of love the Father hath bestowed upon us, that we should be called the sons of God:”  When we stop to think about God’s love for us and for our children, it is truly an outrageous amount of love!

Second, because of God’s deep love for our children, we can trust their life in His hands.  Now that can be a scary thing, right?  Entrusting the lives of our precious children in God’s hands takes a lot of faith!  Trusting that His plans for their lives are far better than our own means relinquishing control we do not so easily want to give up.  Sometimes I think we hold onto our children so tightly because we fear what God may have in store.  However, as mothers we need to remember that God can be trusted with the lives of our children.  He has amazing plans for their lives and He allows us to be a part of those plans!  Jeremiah 29:11 is a great promise! “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.
The lives of our children can be placed in God’s hands because He loves them so much and because He is worthy of our trust!  I have been the Mama who has had healthy beautiful children and I have been the Mama who has wept over a child who has died and still from the depths of my heart I honestly say, I trust their lives in Gods hands.  His capable, infallible, gracious, loving hands.

On Saturday I did plead with God to spare my baby’s life, just as any other loving parent would do.  Saturday God saw fit to spare her life and we are so thankful He did!  As we rushed into the ER the dr on call was able to give her medicine right away and within a short while the swelling was beginning to go down and her voice was back to normal.  We praise Him for His love and goodness!

Be comforted and encouraged, Mama!

Ps: If this post has been a blessing to you, please feel free to share it!

12 thoughts on “Two Truths for Mama’s

  1. I need those things tattooed on my forehead! I’m so glad your sweet baby is okay, and thank you so much for the reminder to keep surrendering our kids into God’s hands!

  2. trusting their lives in His hands – why does that come so hard for us mommas? Thanks for encouraging me to #livefree today! Kim Stewart @kimstewinspired

  3. What a scary time! I understand those moments completely. As much as we know to trust God for the outcome, it is still hard not to panic. Thank you for sharing your story as an encouragement to other mommies!

    • Yes, it is so hard not to panic and I need these reminders often! God loves them even more than my mama’s heart and I can fully trust their lives in His hands! Thanks for stopping by!

  4. I am thankful that God’s protection remained around your daughter. That is so scary. I have two grown sons who I love something fierce and your words touched my momma’s heart today. Visiting you from #DanceWithJesus. Have a blessed weekend!

I love hearing from my readers!

