When the LGBT movement hits home

We grew up in the same home, were raised by the same parents, surrounded by the same siblings.  We are siblings.  All five of us have now grown and moved to various states across this country, yet one of my siblings has chosen to live a gay lifestyle.

Did that just shock you?  Ya, it was a shock to me too.

I feel rather vulnerable even now, opening up on here to share this with you all.  Yet, I feel compelled to share because I’m sure there are some who can relate and need some encouragement.

Here’s the thing, though I disagree with my siblings lifestyle choice, though I will never condone what he is doing, I still love him.

I remember getting the phone call several years back when he notified us of his “coming out”.  There was a chill that raced down my spine and an ache in my heart that I had never known before.  “NO!” I thought, and my husband and I wept, bitterly wept for him.  It was a heart wrenching shock and though we spoke truth in love to him, his heart and mind were made up.

I have sat around the table and listened quietly while others spoke of these people in this kind of lifestyle in a way that was not God-honoring.  Sometimes it is easier to simply talk about them grossly instead of praying for them earnestly.  The lifestyle is sinful, no doubt about it, but let’s not forget that there are mother’s, and father’s, and siblings, and others who are deeply grieved because someone they love is involved in this lifestyle.  The words we choose to use and how we choose to say them can add sting after sting to a mother who has been earnestly praying for her child to come back to the Lord.  Those words can feel like a boulder was just tossed their way and instead of having a safe place to share the burden of having a wayward child or relative, they sit in silence, fearing the harsh judgements from others.

My heart is grieved for my brother.  I have sat with my mother as she has wept for the soul of her son.  I have seen the blame she has placed on her shoulders, a weight no mothers shoulders are strong enough to bare.  I have seen the concern in her eyes over decisions her son, my brother, has made.  His lifestyle is one we will never condone, never accept as right, but we will also never stop loving him.  We will never stop caring for him.  Never stop praying that God would intervene in his life!

Instead of simply writing mean articles and speaking hateful words when referring to someone in this lifestyle, why not take a moment to pray for them and reach out to them?  I’m not saying to excuse their lifestyle and not call sin what it is, I would never say that, but rather, remember chances are in this day and age someone you are close to has been affected by someone in this lifestyle and may be hurting deeply because of it.  When God brings someone of this lifestyle across your path, reach out!  They don’t have the plague.  If you talk to them and try to minister to them you will not “catch” what they have.  Yes, you may face rejection, but they ultimately are not rejecting you, but Christ.  As a believer, this is part of what being a believer is about!  It’s about fulfilling the great commission!  It is a lot easier to turn the other way and pretend we never saw them, but what if, what if God placed some people in your life that are of this lifestyle, because He knew He would be able to use you to point them to Him!

We all sin.

That is why Jesus came!  Luke 5:32, “I came not to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance.

I am deeply thankful that someone shared Christ with me!  It is my turn to keep sharing Him with others.

13 thoughts on “When the LGBT movement hits home

  1. My sister’s husband has a brother who is gay, and they are not Christians (though she was raised in church just like I was). Instead of knowing it is sin and loving him anyway, they openly support all that is going on for gay rights here in America, and brazenly dare anyone to cross them , with threats of deleting the “hateful homophobes” from their FB, and lives. Hard for me, and especially my mother , who knows it is an abomination to the Lord, to deal with since they are so aggressive and defensive because of his brother, and fear of offending his brother. Not sure how to handle it, such an explosive topic. They both claim to be atheists , so the whole idea that it is sin is a non issue …plus they say the brother, like all gays, were made that way by God (which is interesting since they don’t claim to believe in God) and that no one would ever “choose” that lifestyle. My mother and I are stumped on what to say when the subject comes up. Basically we just avoid it. Hardly being the scriptural “salt and light” for Jesus and His truth, when we can’t have a civil conversation about it. By the way, we don’t know his gay brother. My mother may have met him once or twice but that is it. Any ideas on how to go about keeping peace while still letting them know we believe God’s Word on the subject?

    • When my husband and I shared truth in love with my brother he instantly cut us off from his life. He began to say he no longer believed in God and the Bible. It was really difficult to handle and he would not have anything to do with us for a few years. It has only been in the recent past that he has begun to reach back out to us. Sharing the truth in love in a godly way when the topic comes up is important, but we can’t help how someone will take the truth. We can’t control their reactions, we just need to make sure we are being the light. With my brother, he still knows where we stand on the topic, but he also knows we love him, he knows our love for him does not waver. I send texts to him letting him know we love him, ask about how he is doing, and we always let him know we are praying for him. We consistently pray for him because Satan has gotten such a hold on his heart that it truly is only God who can change his heart, but we want to be willing vessels to let God use us to share God’s love with him. Pray my friend! God will grant you wisdom as you need it and when the topic does come up, trust Him with how everything will be handled and taken. Ask Him to filter your words through Him. Truth in love, not guns blazing ready for an argument. Again, pray, God will grant you the words and wisdom you will need when you need it. I’m sorry for the tough situation you are in, I can honestly say I understand.

  2. Thank you. Just… thank you. It hurts my heart to see Christians act so nasty toward homosexuals. I can’t word it any better than you did. It’s absolutely not condoning their lifestyle.. but how do we expect to win the lost to Christ if we don’t show them the love of Christ? It’s impossible.
    Thank you.

  3. Thank you for sharing your heart. Our family is directly affected by this and your post has encouraged me to not stop praying for my sister. God is able to do exceedingly above all we ask or think. Thank you!

  4. It is so hard when not just the straight and religious community finds is so hard to believe that we didn’t choose to be gay (some people actually choose to have gay sex) it was not ever able to be chosen just like you did not choose to be straight. I tried to deny who I was and lie and get married and then I realized that would it not be a greater sin for me to lie to this woman and pretend I was ok. No and I don’t believe God wanted that from me. I spent a long time finding my way to God and finally one day I looked in the mirror and asked God if he made me this way and loved me. I felt chills run up and down my back and for the first time knew he was with me gay and all. You can say whatever you want but to be so closed minded as to say you chose to be gay and not for one second think well maybe we are getting this wrong. You lost a brother because you think he could choose this lifestyle but ask yourself if you had been given the choice would you choose to be gay!!!

    • Let me share with you why I believe what I do. I start with God’s Word. Now I know some might say they do not believe it {God’s Word}, and I understand that. But I do, and I believe {in one man, one woman marriage} because I started with God’s Word. I do believe Genesis, even if others may think it is just a myth. But just understand where I am coming from, and because of that that’s why I believe marriage is between a man and a woman. That’s why I would say homosexual behavior is wrong. Leviticus 18:22 states, “Thou shalt not lie with mankind, as with womankind: it is abomination.” Also Leviticus 20:13 states, “If a man also lie with mankind, as he lieth with a woman, both of them have committed an abomination”
      Yes, God does love you, just as He loves all people, but He does not create people to be of the gay lifestyle.
      Romans 1:26-28, “For this cause God gave them up unto vile affections: for even their women did change the natural use into that which is against nature: And likewise also the men, leaving the natural use of the woman, burned in their lust one toward another; men with men working that which is unseemly, and receiving in themselves that recompence of their error which was meet. And even as they did not like to retain God in [their] knowledge, God gave them over to a reprobate mind, to do those things which are not convenient;”
      God does love you, He longs to be your Savior! We all sin {sin is anything we think, say or do that displeases God} and are in need of a Savior and just as Christ extended His saving grace to me, He wants to do that for you as well! I want to leave you with some verses explaining God’s plan of salvation.
      Romans 3:23, “For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God;”
      Romans 6:23, “For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.”
      Romans 5:8, “But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.”
      Acts 16:31,” And they said, Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and thou shalt be saved,” Ephesians 2:8-9, “For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast.”

      Please understand, even though we have two different world views, I truly desire that God will use His Words to work in your heart. I earnestly hope that you will receive and accept God’s free gift of salvation and truly accept the freedom found in Christ.

  5. Well said! I honestly believe that much of the hatred and violence the homosexual community displays toward Christians is a defensive result of the poor examples of Christ that have been shown to them through the years. I stand firmly with God and His Word against the specific sin of homosexual behavior, but just as firmly as I stand with His Word on adultery, fornication, tale-baring, laziness, apathy, and many other sins, some with which I struggle. How can we ever hope to win them to the Lord with hate, violence, and bitterness? It’s a tough spot we have been put into because of the bitter carnality of some “Christians.”

I love hearing from my readers!

