Three Things I would teach myself if I could go back in time

If I could go back in time and have a conversation with my younger self, there are a few things I would love to share with me.  Since that is just not possible, I thought I would share them with you!

Since we can’t all meet at a coffee shop together, lets meet right here.  I’ve got my coffee with me, do you have yours?

As I look back on my younger years I am flooded with memories of the awkward years…. you know those years 🙂  We allll have them and there just is no other word to descriWen32be them!  The pictures, oh the pictures!  Yikes!  Have you ever looked back at pictures of yourself and thought, “What in the world was I thinking?!”  Ya, like all the time!

If I had the opportunity to sit down with all of you, I would love to share how important it is to surround yourself with godly friends.  This past week our church held VBS and as I was teaching 1st and 2nd graders our lesson one night was on choWen41osing wise and unwise friends.  Oh how I wish at a young age these children would grasp the reality of choosing wise friends!  Who we hang out with will make a big difference in who we become.  Friends play an important role in our lives.

In college God brought some incredible friends into my life.  Looking back, I have only wonderful memories with those girls!  Their friendships were like a gift from God to me!  Proverbs 27:17 is true, “Iron sharpeneth iron; so a man sharpeneth the countenance of his friend.” 
I thank the Lord that He gifted me with friends who helped to strengthen my walk with God!  Meeting together for prayer and Bible studies are memories I cherish now!  I had never had friendships like that before and it was like a breath of fresh air!  To this day, all of those girls are still walking closely with the Lord and I am beyond blesseWen28d to still call each one a friend!  God gifted me with being able to live not far away from one of my close friends and because of technology I can still see other friends through Face Time!  Friends matter more than we realize, so choose wisely.

My younger years were full of some good times, but there are quite a few painful memories in my past.  I remember reading as a teen the verse in Psalm 56:8 that speaks of how the tears that fall from our eyes are collected by God.  Not one of them goes unnoticed.  The tears shed in silence, in secret, all of them are noticed by God.  I wish I knew then what I know now and that is God truly does work everything together for our good and His glory. Romans 8:28 has rung true in my life, “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.”  Also Genesis 50:20, “But as for you, ye thought evil against me; but God meant it unto good, to bring to pass, as it is this day, to save much people alive.” 

God has the amazing ability to take the hurts of our past (and the ones we are experiencing now) and use them for good.  Oftentimes He allows us to go through these painful times to draw us closer to Himself and later on down the road He helps us to help others who are going through difficult times.  So if I could go back, I would tell myself to hang on and keep trusting.  Cling to the promises of God that though weeping may endure for the night, JOY will come in the morning! {Psalm 30:5}

As a pre-teen and young teenager God gifted me with a great Youth Pastor.  He took time to actually teach me how to study my Bible because he knew the importance of daily spending time with God.  Get in the habit of spending time alone with God from a young age!  Developing this habit early on will help you all through your life! If you are in the habit of spending time with God already, then when life really begins to take off and get busy, that habit will already be engrained in you that you will continue to keep spending time with God on a daily basis.  When life gets busy and tough is not the time to put your Bible down, oh no!  God’s Word is our lifeline for encouragement, for peace, for security!  Make it a habit to spend time with God daily.

I can’t go back in time and remind myself or really teach myself any of these things, but if I can encourage others with them, that is what I would love to do!  Be encouraged friends!  Get into God’s Word, remember He does work all things together for good, and surround yourself with godly friends.

You are loved by our WONDERFUL God!

Wendy

If you have been encouraged, please feel free to pass along this post!

I love hearing from my readers!

