When You Need Reassurance God is Listening

Have you ever needed reassurance from God that He is hearing those deep prayers of your heart?  Have you sometimes just longed for a sign, any sign, that He is hearing and cares about what is going on?  Have you ever felt guilt over that need for reassurance?

I am right there with you friend!

There have been requests on my heart that have been brought before the Lord many many times.  Several times a day they are brought before the Lord and though I share from the depths of my heart, those prayers have not yet been answered.

There have been times when I have asked God to show me a sign that He is hearing me.  His will may not be to answer how I think He should, but I just long for a sign that He sees me, way down here in the south and He is hearing my pleas.

I’ve felt guilty at times for having this need for reassurance.  Shouldn’t my spiritual walk be more mature then that?  Shouldn’t I have more faith and trust and just know that He is hearing me?

Yes, I probably should.  Yet still this need lingers.

This morning as I sat down on my corner of the couch, my devotions took me straight on over to Psalm 86.  Instantly I knew it was not a coincidence the Lord led me there.  The very first verse says, Bow down thine ear, O Lord, hear me: for I am poor and needy.”  Even King David needed to know that God’s ear was in tune to hear his prayers!

Wait, this King, this man who is referred to as  a man after God’s own heart, even he had a need to know that God was listening?

Again in verse 6 he says, Give ear, O Lord, unto my prayer; and attend to the voice of my supplications.”  Also down in verse 17 it says,Shew me a token for good; that they which hate me may see it, and be ashamed: because thou, Lord, hast holpen me, and comforted me.”

We all have a need to know we are being heard by those we are speaking with.  That need grows even stronger when it comes to the pouring out of our heart to our Almighty God.  The waiting for an answer can be so difficult.  All those who have patience mastered please raise your hand.

{*I think I’m hearing crickets!*}

My hand is not raised!

Sometimes the waiting lasts a such a long time and in that waiting, in our humanness we can begin to wonder if God is hearing.  So we just need that sign from Him saying, “Yes, I hear you!”

Friend, if you need this reassurance as well, know you are not alone!

God is hearing our prayers.  He does see where we are and He has not forgotten about you and I in our small corners of our little spot on earth.  2 Chronicles 16:9 states, “For the eyes of the LORD run to and fro throughout the whole earth, to shew Himself strong in the behalf of them whose heart is perfect toward Him.”

Take comfort in knowing that He is hearing your prayers!  His answers may take longer than we think they should and they may be different than we think they ought to be, but remember Is. 55:8-9, “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.”  God sees the bigger picture and we tend to only see one piece at a time.

Be encouraged!  God is listening!  I Peter 3:12, “For the eyes of the Lord are over the righteous, and his ears are open unto their prayers: but the face of the Lord is against them that do evil.

You are heard by our Wonderful God!

Wendy

If you have been encouraged, please feel free to share this post with others!

3 thoughts on “When You Need Reassurance God is Listening

I love hearing from my readers!

