Keeping a Vertical gaze instead of a Horizontal One

I live in a home that can at times be filled with little “policemen/women”.  Our oldest is the typical oldest child, she wants to make sure everyone is doing right and if they aren’t she will let them know.  My middle child wants to make sure the youngest is doing right and if she isn’t he is quick to inform at times.  My youngest, the two year old, well, she just mimics what her older siblings do to her 🙂   We have had many discussions about tattling and informing.  Does any of this sound familiar in your own home?

Tattling can be….. annoying….even frustrating.  We try and teach our children that they should not want their sibling to get in trouble. Often that is what tattling is, isn’t it?

Yet, here I am, even as an adult, and I have a tendency to do the same thing from time to time.

One morning I sat on my front steps and had my mental list of “prayer requests” that were probably more of a list of complaints, ready to lay before the Lord.  Things I longed to see changed and requests I desired answered were shared with the Lord that morning.  On this particular day my thoughts were distracted because my focus had not been upward.

It is so easy to get our eyes looking all around us at what is going on instead of keeping our eyes on the One that can handle everything going on around us.  When our focus becomes horizontal instead of vertical our shoulders tend to slump a bit and our thoughts can get us down.

“Do you see what is going on, Lord?  Where is the faithfulness?” I petitioned.

It was then the Lord prodded my heart and His answer brought with it so much conviction, “Your job is not to make sure everyone else is doing right and being faithful.  Your job is to make sure you do right and are faithful.  Let me be concerned with the everyone else.”

Many times I unintentionally try to carry the pressures of making sure others are on the right path and being faithful.  Faithful to God, to His house, in living right before Him.  I try to carry the job of the Holy Spirit and get discouraged when I don’t see the results!  But on my front steps that morning, the Holy Spirit reminded me, that isn’t my job and I was sticking my nose in His business!

1 Corinthians 15:58 says, “Therefore, my beloved brethren, be ye stedfast, unmoveable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, forasmuch as ye know that your labour is not in vain in the Lord.”

When we do what God has called us to do and keep our focus on Him, it takes the unnecessary pressure off of us {pressure we were never meant to carry} and allows us to have the energy to keep on doing what we are supposed to do.

When our eyes stay on Christ, we will find it easier to keep our focus on making sure we are living right before the Lord and we are being faithful to Him.

I need to be busy about the work God has given me to do and not try to take on the burden of the Holy Spirit’s work.

As we start this day, let’s be busy about the work God has called us to do!  Let’s not become distracted by keeping our vision horizontal and looking at what everyone else is doing {or not doing}.  Let’s keep our eyes on Christ and be busy with what He has for us to do today!

Wendy

If you have been encouraged by this post please feel free to share it with others!

I love hearing from my readers!

