Trials Turned Into Blessings

When I was a little girl, my passion for writing began.  I would scribble out book reports on a piece of notebook paper clipped to my small plastic lap desk.  Not because I had to, but because I really wanted to write.  As I grew I picked up my poetic pen and wrote poem after poem in a journal I had, writing was in my blood!

I remember the first time my dad ever told me that if I worked hard, really hard, I could probably one day publish some of my writings.  That is when the dream began. The dream to one day become a writer!

Years and years have gone by, my life has changed drastically, my dad has since passed away, and writing has not always been something I have had time for. Along with being a wife and home schooling Mama, ministry has often needed my attention.   When I did have the time I was not always sure what to write about and if people would actually want to read it!  I have had times of sitting in front of my computer, the glow of the screen on my face, and I felt like Winnie the Pooh as he would say to himself, “Think, think, think!” I had nothing!

Then one day, God gave me a story to write.  A story I never thought would be mine, but there it was as real as could be.  Throughout the next couple of years He would help me write and click away at the computer keys.  Pouring my heart and soul out on paper, eventually for all the world to see.

The story I found myself sharing came from trials my husband and I had not anticipated when planning out our happily ever after.  Through it all though, God kept bringing me back to one verse.  This one verse has clung to me and given me purpose for writing.   2 Corinthians 1:4 states, “Who comforteth us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble, by the comfort wherewith we ourselves are comforted of God.”   I believe that God sometimes allows us to go through trials, not only grow us in our walk with Christ, but also to later on help comfort and encourage others who are going through trials of their own.

That is exactly why I have written this book, Made Only for Heaven.  God has brought my husband and I through the greatest pain of our lives and now He has opened up the opportunity to help us comfort others as they go through deep pain of their own.

After miscarrying our very first baby, I told my husband I did not want this life to have been in vain.  With each baby we lost that desire grew deeper and stronger.  I wanted the Lord to use this story He so delicately has written for our lives, to comfort and encourage others.  A story I would not be able to write had we not been through those trials

So what is my point?  Where am I going with this?

Friend, where do you find yourself today?  Are you the one going through the trial that needs the encouragement?  Or are you finding yourself on the other side of a trial and God is beckoning to use you to minister to someone in theirs?  Sometimes the only way to effectively minister to others is to have been through the trenches ourselves. To be able to say, “I understand, I made it through and you will also!”  God does not allow us to go through times of testing without a purpose.  Sometimes it is to stretch and grow our faith, and others it is to prepare us to comfort and help someone else going through their own hard time.

If you find yourself in the midst of a trial, cling to Christ and allow Him to encourage your heart like only He can. If you find yourself on the other side of one, pray and ask the Lord to help you use the lessons you learned through it, to help someone else through theirs.

 No matter which situation we find ourselves in, let’s make it our goal to encourage and lift each other up!

Be encouraged!

Wendy

If you have been encouraged by this post, please feel free to pass it along to others!

2 thoughts on “Trials Turned Into Blessings

  1. Hey Wendy,

    What a good word and a great perspective on pain and suffering. I really like this line from your post, “God does not allow us to go through times of testing without a purpose.”

    I love knowing that God can take anything and everything and work them together for good in our lives. Sounds like you are allowing Him to do just that. Thanks for comforting and encouraging others!

    I found your post on Mommy Moments today.

    Hope you have a blessed day~
    Melanie

    • It is so encouraging to know that God has a purpose for everything He allows us to go through! He walks through it with us every step of the way! Thanks for the encouragement!

I love hearing from my readers!

