Creating A Purposeful Season of Thanks: Study One

Rejoice in the Lord always: and again I say, Rejoice. Philippians 4:4

It’s the most wonderful time of the year!  At least, that’s how the song goes!

It is hard for me to even wrap my mind around the fact the holidays are upon us!  Thanksgiving is only a few weeks away, can you believe it?  The year flew right on by!

This is the time of year we tend to see our schedules really pick up and take on a life of their own, don’t we?  Meals to plan, parties to throw, get-together’s with family and let’s not forget about all those trips to the grocery store because we forgot those one or two crucial ingredients for our Thanksgiving meal!

During this crazy and at times chaotic part of the season, I want to provide a place of rest and encouragement for you.  A soft place to land, where you can bring your cup of coffee {or cocoa!}, sit for awhile, and enjoy the calm and quietness found in this space as we focus on intentional gratitude.

At the beginning of this year the Lord began to impress on my heart the need I had to be more thankful.  My perspective needed some changing and a healthy dose of gratitude would certainly help.  So I made a checklist of books to read throughout this year and cracked open my first one just before we rang in the new year.  I didn’t get far into my first book, One Thousand Gifts, when I was overcome with how ungrateful my heart had truly become.  It wasn’t purposeful, but then again, neither was my gratitude.  gifts

I poured over those pages and underlined sentences and paragraphs that captured my attention.  I even began my own list of 1000 Gifts and found myself scribbling additions to it as the days went on.

It fascinated me how one small habit of purposeful gratitude began to change my entire perspective on life.  God was using gratitude to teach me I have reasons to always rejoice in Him, no matter my circumstances.

Gratitude. Gratefulness. Thanksgiving. Joy. Yes, these have the ability to truly change how we view life!

Gratitude will not just happen, it will take some practice but that is the great part!  The more we practice the better we will get!  It will take some purposeful focus and intentional time, but it can become a daily habit!

As we begin our series on gratitude for the month of November, I want to encourage each of us this week to take some time and make a list of things we have to be thankful for.  A simple task indeed, but as we find ourselves focusing on all we have to be grateful for, we will soon find ourselves absolutely surrounded by reasons we have to be thankful!  We will be reminded yet again that there really is a reason to rejoice in the Lord always, and not just one day out of the year we call Thanksgiving!

Heaping doses of gratitude will change our focus from being internal, and place it where it always belongs, on Christ!  Because of Christ we always have reason to be thankful!

I’m looking forward to this study and hope you will too!

Many Blessings,

Wendy

Ps: If you have been encouraged by this post, please pass it on to others!

4 thoughts on “Creating A Purposeful Season of Thanks: Study One

  1. “Heaping doses of gratitude will change our focus on being internal, and place it where it belongs, on Christ,” so true. This looks like a great series. It’s so easy to become self-focused. I would love of you to link-up at #100HappyDays. Focusing on my blessings has helped me to be more thankful. I’m glad I found you at Ra RA link-up!

I love hearing from my readers!

