Creating A Purposeful Season of Thanks: Study 4

“Have you seen the news?” was the question that echoed through my phone as I was talking with my mother in-law.  Our family had been across town for the better part of the evening and the nightly news was the furthest thing from my mind!

Once we hopped back in the car I pulled up the news on my phone and shock and devastation instantly washed over me.

Bombings in Paris.  Shootings.  Attacks.  Innocent lives lost. Souls entering eternity!

The despairing news caused millions of people across the world to mourn for the people of France.

Evil had shown it’s face once again in such an inhuman way.

As I hear chatter across the world, as I listen to people in our country, and even in the community in which I live, one word sums up what is reverberating from all corners of the world.

Fear. Im not perfect but im always me: Living in Fear!

Because let’s face it, suicide bombers, criminals, “bad guys”, they are downright scary!

If we let it, our imagination will run wild with vivid imagery’s of what could be or “what if” scenarios.”  As questioned on social media the other day, “Someone rang my door bell and I was afraid!  How do I know if I can trust the person on the other side of my door?”

Fear can get such a choke-hold on us!  It can weigh us down and make it hard for us to even gasp for air!

In the quiet of this moment, can I share some truth and comfort with you, sweet friend?

In this purposeful season of thanks, we can be grateful that our HOPE is safe and secure in Christ!  It does not lie with our President, nor any man for that hope is a good challenge... - chrisprefontaine.commatter!  Our HOPE is found and secured in CHRIST!

Psalm 43:5, “Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted within me? hope in God: for I shall yet praise him, who is the health of my countenance, and my God.

It does not matter what is going on in life, we can cling to Him and have HOPE!  Why?  Because ultimately God is in control!  There may be battles on this earth but He has ultimately won the war!!  Read the book of Revelation!  He WON!

Check out the praise that Hannah prayed in 1 Samuel 2:9-10, “He will keep the feet of his saints, and the wicked shall be silent in darkness; for by strength shall no man prevail. The adversaries of the LORD shall be broken to pieces; out of heaven shall he thunder upon them: the LORD shall judge the ends of the earth; and he shall give strength unto his king, and exalt the horn of his anointed.
She was confident that God is in control, and we can too!

Our enemy knows his time is limited and with the time he has left he is resolved to cause as much devastation as possible and attempt to cripple us with fear.  Remember, the spirit of fear is from our enemy, not God.  Our enemy feeds us everything that God opposes.  {2 Timothy 1:7, “For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.

Let’s not give our enemy that power over us!  When he tries to tempt us with fear, let’s remind him of what his future holds!  Cry out to God and sink deep into His Word feeding your soul on His truth.  God has won and we are victorious through Him!  Thank God for the HOPE we have in Christ!

Be encouraged sweet friends!

Many blessings,

Wendy

Ps: If you have been encouraged by this post, please feel free to share it with others!

 

I love hearing from my readers!

