When our Hearts Hurt

This past week I found myself briefly scrolling through social media and it seemed there was one glaring truth staring back at me from the glow of my screen.

There are so many hurting people right now.  So many heavy burdens, life and death burdens, people are carrying with them each and every day.

Mama’s weeping for the loss of their unborn babies, parents begging God to heal their gravely ill little ones, missionaries searching for answers to health problems of their spouse, marriages in trouble, poverty abounding, orphans abandoned, and on the list went.

It wasn’t long until my own heart was heavy for them, many of whom I do not even know personally, yet their stories squeezed my heart.

I found myself on the brink of tears and prayed,  “God, Please, please intervene! Heal what is hurting and broken! Restore and renew, please! Work Your perfect will.”

There have been many times in my life when I have asked the Lord to do this very thing for me and my family!  I begged God to please heal, to make whole, to give back what was taken!  Sometimes those answers came quickly, other times healing took much longer than I dared to think.

We believe God can heal, so we pray with faith sometimes as tiny as a grain of mustard seed and we wait for an answer.

How many of us have found ourselves praying, “Lord, please help my life to glorify you!”  But we don’t really think about what it may cost to actually bring glory to Him.

What if it would bring more glory to God if He did not heal instantly?  What if our praise to Him through the waiting process is what would make our light shine brighter for Him?

Are we still willing to glorify God even if the hurt sticks around for awhile?

I’m reminded of Paul in the book of 2 Corinthians chapter 12 when he shares that he also asked God to remove a thorn in his flesh.  Now Scripture doesn’t tell us what that thorn is, but it caused him some pain and trouble!  Let’s look at verses 7-9,

And lest I should be exalted above measure through the abundance of the revelations, there was given to me a thorn in the flesh, the messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I should be exalted above measure. For this thing I besought the Lord thrice, that it might depart from me.  And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

Paul asked God to remove his thorn and God said in essence, “I can use you greater if that thorn stays right where it is.  Instead of me removing it, let my grace surround you!  Let me use your weakness to reveal my strength!”
How can we glorify God through our pain?  How can we continue to let Him shine through us when His answer to our request is the opposite of our prayer for instant healing?
Come back in the coming days and let’s look together in God’s Word for three truths for the hurting heart.
Many Blessings,
Wendy
Ps: If you have been encouraged by this post, please feel free to pass it along to others!

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “When our Hearts Hurt

  1. Relevant. Timely. Beautiful. Truth. Thank you so much for writing this. I can fully appreciate this post for I have felt the exact same. “What if our praise to Him through the waiting process is what would make our light shine brighter for Him?” Glory. Amen.

I love hearing from my readers!

