Three Truths for the Hurting Heart

I dropped in the overstuffed chair in our living room of the home we were renting and with a heavy heart prayed, “Lord, teach me to glorify and praise you, even when it is difficult, help me to keep praising you.”

Giving praise to God, the One who allows trials to take place in our lives, seems like it would go against our very being, doesn’t it?  I mean, God, the One who could change the situation we are in, yet sometimes chooses to not do so and wants us to still give Him praise.  How in the world are we supposed to do that?

Heat up that cup of coffee once more, sit with me awhile, and in our few moments together, can I share a few thoughts with you?

First, even though our hearts are hurting, God still longs to hear us praise Him.  Remember that verse we learned as children?  Philippians 4:4, “Rejoice in the Lord alway, and again I say rejoice!”  Ya, that one.  Well, I took to the dictionary to look up the word “alway” and you know what I found?  And I quote {thank you google!} “at all times, for all time, at any time”.  God wants to hear us praise Him, even when we are smack dab in the middle of a situation that has us puffy eyed from the numerous tears we shed.  He wants us to praise Him, not with a begrudging, “I’m doing this because I have to” kind of heart, but with a genuine heart of praise.

 

Next, if we ask the Lord to help us praise Him, He will do just that!  When we come to Christ and humbly admit that we just don’t even know how to keep praising Him as we walk through our trial, He will graciously help us!  Because He longs for us to praise Him, when we ask humbly for His help, He lovingly teaches us how.  James 4:6, “But he giveth more grace. Wherefore he saith, God resisteth the proud, but giveth grace unto the humble.” 

Last, God knows that continuous praise through difficult times can tough, but that sacrifice of praise is so sweet to our God!   He never said it would be easy to keep praising Him, He understands us so much better than we often realize.  Psalm 103:14, “For he knoweth our frame; he remembereth that we are dust.”  I am so thankful we have a God who truly understands us and shows compassion on us.  He knows we are weak, and yet His strength shines greater in our weakness!  Though it may be tough, the more we practice praising Him, the better we will get at it!

Let’s purpose to praise Him more!  As the Psalmist David wrote in Psalm 34:1, ” I will bless the LORD at all times: his praise shall continually be in my mouth.”  Let’s purpose to praise God, let’s ask for His help to keep praising, and let’s remember, He understands it can be difficult, but through it all, let’s learn to bless the Lord at all times!

Many Blessings,

Wendy

 

PS: If you have been encouraged by this post, please feel free to pass it along!

I love hearing from my readers!

