Learning To Be Still

Each year for the past several years now I have had a word, or a phrase that I try to either learn more about or set a goal to be like.  This past year my goal for the year was choosing joy.  Now, even though that was my goal, I did not always choose joy throughout the year.  However God taught me a lot about this tiny little word and how it impacts our lives in such a big way!

As I pondered and prayed about what my “theme” for this year would be two words came to mind.  I am a stay at home, home schooling mabe-stillma and wife to my husband who is also a Pastor.  Our lives tend to keep us hopping, busy with varying activities.  Sound familiar?  I know there are many who can relate!  Busy tends to define most of our days!

This year God has challenged me to take time to be still.  He did not design us to always be on the go, to never have adequate rest.  Actually, it is quite the opposite!  Yes, He wants us to work hard and be diligent, but He created us with a need for rest and time to be still in His presence as well.

Remember the story in the book of 1 Kings 19 when Elijah was told to go stand on a mountain and that God would pass by?  There was immense wind that broke apart the mountain, and though it was powerful, God was not in the wind.  Then there was an earthquake that shook the earth, but God was not in the earthquake.  Next came a fire, but God was not in the fire either.  All of these things were great and powerful, but God was not in them.  Lastly, yes at the very last, after all of the distractions had passed there was a still small voice.  As soon as Elijah heard the still small voice he knew in an instant that it was God’s voice.

And he said, Go forth, and stand upon the mount before the Lord. And, behold, the Lord passed by, and a great and strong wind rent the mountains, and brake in pieces the rocks before the Lord; but the Lord was not in the wind: and after the wind an earthquake; but the Lord was not in the earthquake: And after the earthquake a fire; but the Lord was not in the fire: and after the fire a still small voice.  And it was so, when Elijah heard it, that he wrapped his face in his mantle, and went out, and stood in the entering in of the cave.” 1 Kings 19:11-13a

God chose to pass by in a still small voice and Elijah had to be quiet and still in order to hear Him.  The noise around him may have been a distraction, but he waited and remained still in order to hear from God.

There is often a lot of noise around us, activities pulling us here and there, schedules keeping us out late and up early, and God simply beckons to us, “Come, and be still!  Come find rest in Me!”

I have been challenged by this need to be still more often.  Taking the time I need to rest in the Lord in order to really hear from Him.  Do you find you need this as well?  Come, join me on this journey throughout the year!  Let’s learn together about being still with ears wide open ready to hear from Him!  Let’s learn to recognize God’s voice amidst the clamor around us.  Together, let’s grow closer to Him this year!

 

Many Blessings,

Wendy

 

ps: If you have been encouraged by this post, please feel free to share it with others!

 

4 thoughts on “Learning To Be Still

  1. This is beautiful wisdom, Wendy. I do also find that I need to be still in order to hear what the Lord is calling me to do. Thanks for sharing with #SocialButterflySunday! Hope to see you link up again this week 🙂

I love hearing from my readers!

