Encouragement for Moms, pt. 2

The alarm clock goes off {or you are awakened by a crying child, a toy being tossed your way, or a dog licking you awake!} and so the day begins.  Get up, put the coffee pot on, pour the kids cereal and as soon as they hear those cheerios hit the bowl out the kids come from their bedrooms.  The day then kind of takes off on its own as everyone gets ready for the day.  Before we know it evening has come and we are exhausted.  Falling into bed, setting the alarm, drifting to sleep only to wake up and do it all again tomorrow.

If we are not careful, we will miss the most important aspect of our day. Time alone with God.

Through my time of being a mom God has shown me that in order for me to be a godly Mama to my littles, I first need to be a godly Christian woman.  One way I learn about being a godly woman is by spending time in prayer with God, relying on His strength to carry me through each day, asking for wisdom, but second, I need to spend time alone with God every.single.day. and so do you.

There are many things that pull on a Mama’s attention, energy, thoughts, desires and if I have not first filled myself up with time with God, there is no way I am going to have what I need to make it through that day!  I will end the day in a ball of frustration, lacking in patience, and feeling like a failure at this whole *mom thing*.

Spending time alone with God sounds like a no-brainer, something one would expect a Christian to say, right?  Yet, how many of us actually make it a priority to spend time with God daily? I’m telling you what, that enemy of ours knows the power that comes when a Mama spends time with God every single day of her life.  It will take discipline, it will take sacrifice of some time that is usually spent elsewhere, it will take time to make it a habit, but all of this is worth it!

Mama’s, let me level with you for a moment.  We, in and of ourselves do not have what it will take to be the best Mom we can be to our children.  We do not posses that kind of strength, patience, perseverance, wisdom, love to be and do all that we need to in our families.  Swallow hard.  Was that hard to read?  It’s hard to recognize and stare our weaknesses straight on, isn’t it?  It takes a bit of pride swallowing to even admit we have weaknesses!

Let me share some GOOD news with you though!  All the strength we will ever need will be found in Christ!  In our weakness His strength shines brightly!  {2 Corinthians 12:9, And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.}  

Mama, I encourage you, get alone with God every day!  Soak up the truths that God has for you that day and let His strength fill you!  Spending time with God can look different each day!

Sometimes during my time with God I will put my ear buds in and will turn on a sermon in the morning.  SermonAudio.com has some great messages from wonderful speakers/pastors.  I encourage you to look up Speakers such as Dave Teis, Kurt Skelly, Dr. David Gibbs Jr., Dave Young, Shane Lewis, Jim Schettler, Morris Gleiser, Steve Pettit,
John Goetsch… there are so many great preachers out there who preach the Word of God with passion and conviction! Wall Quotes - Abraham Lincoln - No man is poor who has a Godly mother

Some days I will read an online devotional from a website such as Proverbs31.org , or a devotional app like shereadstruth or even a devotional from the Bible app are also helpful.  There are all kinds of devotional books out there too!

I really cannot emphasize enough how important getting into God’s Word every day is!  You will find yourself refreshed, encouraged and more ready to take on your God-given role of Mom!  When we let God’s Word really get a hold of us, we will begin to see ourselves change and it will in turn change how we mother our children.

Join me next time as we continue this mini series on encouragement for moms!

 

Many Blessings,

Wendy

 

ps: If this post has been an encouragement to you please feel free to share it with others!

2 thoughts on “Encouragement for Moms, pt. 2

  1. Pingback: Encouragement for Moms, pt. 3 | Morning Cup of Coffee

I love hearing from my readers!

