Praying “Thy Will be done….” When I Really Want mine!

Have you ever stopped to think about the prayer Jesus prayed in the garden of Gethsemane when He asked the Lord to let the cup pass from Him, but ended His prayer with, “Nevertheless, not my will but Thine be done.” {Luke 22:42}

Here Jesus was about to go to the cross, to die an awful death, and experience true loneliness and agony. He laid His desire before His Father, but Jesus was willing to accept the will of God the Father.

There are desires I have in my life that I really really want. I honestly want to whole-heartedly pray, “Thy will be done”….. but at the same time I really want what I want!

Praying, “Not my will, but Thine be done” is challenging sometimes!  It is tough for me at least, because I think I have some pretty amazing plans for my life!

When my husband and I got married one of the dreams we had was having at least half a dozen children. Eleven years of marriage and nine pregnancies later, we have three living children with us {which we are extremely thankful for!} and six in the arms of Jesus. To be honest, I have struggled with praying, “Not my will…. but yours…” in this area of my life.

At the risk of sounding childish, quite honestly the easier prayer to pray is, “Why her and not me?”

In April of this year we lost our sixth baby at the beginning of my second trimester. This loss brought me face to face once again with the reality that God will often allow us to go through crushing times. Not to simply leave us broken, but to let the breaking of us be the making of us.  We are each left to answer the question, do I really want His will?

Wanting His will means I will let go of every single one of my dreams and lay them down at His feet.  Not letting go begrudgingly.  Not going through a white knuckling tug of war over His will and mine, but simply taking my dreams and my will for my life and laying them before Him. Praying, “Not my will, but Your’s…” and really meaning those words.

I cannot pray that prayer while holding onto my will with one hand and extending my other to Him. No, it is prayed honestly when I surrender my will to Him.

Even when it hurts, even when it is hard to let go of what I want, even though I may not see His will and how it will all unfold, I can trust Him. His plans are far better than my own and His will come from a love so deep for me.

Sometimes we lack submitting our will to Him because we do not understand the depth of love He has for us. It will be hard to pray that prayer, until we realize that His thoughts and plans are so much better than our own and that He is completely trustworthy and loves us beyond measure!

Our plans may seem good, but God doesn’t want us to settle for just good. His plans for our lives are AMAZING!

Dear friend, what things are you finding yourself having a hard time laying at the feet of Jesus? What is it that keeps you from honestly praying, “Not my will, but Thine”field-summer-sun-meadow-large?

Today, let’s take that step of faith. Let’s ask the Lord to help us believe that His love for us is as deep as it is wide, vast beyond measure!  Together, let’s ask for His help to honestly be able to pray, “Your will, not mine.”

 

Many Blessings,

Wendy

 

 

Ps: If you have been encouraged by this post, please feel free to share it with others!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love hearing from my readers!

