Encouragement For Your Heart

Psalm 2:1-4

Why do the nations rage
    and the peoples plot in vain?
The kings of the earth set themselves,
    and the rulers take counsel together,
    against the Lord and against his Anointed, saying,
 “Let us burst their bonds apart
    and cast away their cords from us.”

He who sits in the heavens laughs;
    the Lord holds them in derision.

This week our nation was shaken with the events that took place in Nashville. The hearts of many were shattered. The lives of so many will never be the same. What took place was evil and our hearts grieve and mourn with those that lost loved ones. It has been interesting to hear how quickly the narrative changed in just a matter of hours.

Will you allow me just a few minutes of your time to share some encouragement with you?

In times of sorrow or joy we ought always to pray. Prayer should be our number one go-to no matter what is going on in our days. Pour your heart out to God over what is weighing on you.

~ Luke 18:1 Then He spoke a parable to them, that men always ought to pray and not lose heart,

Pray for our nation.

~ 2 Chronicles 7:14 If My people who are called by My name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land.

No matter the rhetoric, no matter how the narrative changes, one truth remains. God is seated on His throne. He is still high and lifted up.

~ Isaiah 6:1 In the year that King Uzziah died I saw the Lord sitting upon a throne, high and lifted up; and the train of his robe filled the temple.

No matter what the media portrays, God is not the enemy. Truth is only found in Him.

~ John 17:17 Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth.

God is broken hearted over what happened this week and for those that have been left behind and are grieving. He is near those that are brokenhearted.

~ Psalm 147:3 He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds.

It is really easy to feel fearful. I get it. My husband is a Pastor and I am a Mom of 5 it would be incredibly easy for me to turn to fear. However, God reminds us to not fear. The spirit of fear is not from Him and He reminds us to take courage in Him.

~ Isaiah 41:10 Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, Yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’

~ Psalm 34:4 I sought the Lord, and he heard me, and delivered me from all my fears.

~ Psalm 56:3 What time I am afraid, I will trust in thee. 

~ Deuteronomy 31:6 Be strong and of a good courage, fear not, nor be afraid of them: for the Lord thy God, he it is that doth go with thee; he will not fail thee, nor forsake thee.

When fear threatens to overwhelm, ask the Lord for His help to take every thought captive and not dwell on the fear.

~ 2 Corinthians 10:5 Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ;

Seek the Lord for His wisdom. There are a lot of voices shouting in society. Ask the Lord for His wisdom to help you see clearly through it all and to discern His voice.

~ James 1:5 If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to him.

Stay close to God. Find refuge and shelter in Him. My number one Psalm I turn to when I am feeling afraid, hurting, needing a reminder that He is with me and protects my family and I, I run to Psalm 91. God is not absent, He is aware of what is transpiring. Cling to Him and trust that He is near.

~ Psalm 91

He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High
    will abide in the shadow of the Almighty.
I will say[a] to the Lord, “My refuge and my fortress,
    my God, in whom I trust.”

For he will deliver you from the snare of the fowler
    and from the deadly pestilence.
He will cover you with his pinions,
    and under his wings you will find refuge;
    his faithfulness is a shield and buckler.
You will not fear the terror of the night,
    nor the arrow that flies by day,
nor the pestilence that stalks in darkness,
    nor the destruction that wastes at noonday.

A thousand may fall at your side,
    ten thousand at your right hand,
    but it will not come near you.
You will only look with your eyes
    and see the recompense of the wicked.

Because you have made the Lord your dwelling place—
    the Most High, who is my refuge[b]
10 no evil shall be allowed to befall you,
    no plague come near your tent.

11 For he will command his angels concerning you
    to guard you in all your ways.
12 On their hands they will bear you up,
    lest you strike your foot against a stone.
13 You will tread on the lion and the adder;
    the young lion and the serpent you will trample underfoot.

14 “Because he holds fast to me in love, I will deliver him;
    I will protect him, because he knows my name.
15 When he calls to me, I will answer him;
    I will be with him in trouble;
    I will rescue him and honor him.
16 With long life I will satisfy him
    and show him my salvation.”

I love hearing from my readers!